More ways with Amaranth; Mindful eating challenge update.

September 26, 2010 § 6 Comments

Gloooooorious Sunday to you all!

Another cracking day to distract me from Wednesday’s looming Anatomy & Physiology exam.

Ahhh, hang it, I cram therefore I am!

Seriously, give me too much prep time and I lose that vital adrenalin rush that only comes with leaving chapters of content to the dying moments of the night before. It’s the way I roll yo.

This morning, I was greeted by a delectable sunlit breakfast; fishtank-green algae shake & ginger tea (goes by no other foul-sounding alias).

Who am I kidding? This breakfast did not spontaneously spring into being and materialise on my carpet; there was no doting mother presenting it to me as I stumbled out of bed hungry & demanding (although there may be in ONE WEEK when I visit Bonne Ma in W.A!!!)

God I go on…

Anyway, after I made it myself and arranged it artfully on the floor, I thought it looked rather pretty in the springtime sun.

Droooooooooooool.

Looks like a bubbling cauldron. Did I mention in order to create the swamp shake, one must dance around the blender chanting incantations (*spirulina maca chia, spirulina maca chia!*) and cackling like an old crazy cat lady?

Yes yes, a delicious start to the day.

And now…

UPDATE on the mindful eating challenge:

I could tell you that I’ve been utterly devoted to the cause, mindfully eating like a champ with all good things to report…

…But I would be lying through my crooked, yellowing cat-lady teeth.

I actually feel as if I am going through a really snacky stage right now, possibly due to pushing the exercise a little more, being bored whilst studying, and still experiencing ‘trust’ issues with my body as to whether it is full or or just tricking. (You’re not full *ho ho ho*, you just need some more CEREAL that’s what!!!)

Being completely aware of this tendency whilst simultaneously filling another cup full of museli does not, I fear, equate to mindful eating

Ultimately having the ‘challenge’ in my head has somehow inspired me to think about food moreso than usual, and despite all good intentions, I cannot say I have formed better eating skillz over the last couple of weeks.

I do think I am learning to recognise when I am truly hungry; it’s the habits I have to work on!

This morning however, I did eat my breakfast sitting listening to the radio; no phones, no TV, no newspaper, no computer. It was rather pleasant.

Similarly, lunch had the same peaceful, anti-technological feel.

It was also an homage to the gorgeous, summery weather we’ve been experiencing here in Sydney over the last few days.

Avomatato & Amaranth Springtime Salad

(Avocado, Sweet Potato & Tomato!)

Another amaranth experiment.

It turned out well, however I would dearly love to have used quinoa for this as the amaranth ends up much like polenta; it was very mushy and not-quite suited to the salad theme. I, being a hangry monster, still considered it delightful!

(serves 2-3)

For amaranth

1 c amaranth

2.5 c water

1 c chopped greens (I used english spinach)

seasoning (salt & pepper or herbamare)

For salad

1 tomato, diced

1/2 avocado, diced

1 sweet potato, cut into 1-2cm dice & roasted with olive oil & seasoning (I used cajun, mmmmm!)

big handful of fresh coriander

Dressing

1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

juice & zest of 1/2 a lemon

cracked black pepper

  • Cook amaranth in water with seasoning until absorbed, throwing in greens at the end to wilt.
  • Combine roasted sweet potato pieces, tomato, avocado, coriander & dressing in a bowl.
  • Serve salad over amaranth (or quinoa, or cous cous) and garnish with pepper & coriander.
  • I also squeezed extra lemon over mine, because I’m a citrus fiend.

Fresh and tasty!

Well my friends, it’s here I leave you.

If you were working on mindful eating, how did it go? Any tips for a struggling lass?

Goodnight! x

§ 6 Responses to More ways with Amaranth; Mindful eating challenge update.

  • You’re so funny! That recipe looks delish!
    Tips for mindful eating? Well I would have to say switch the tv, computer, radio and all other distracting things off, don’t even read (or study) while eating. I find I’m much more calm and able to enjoy my food more.
    What’s in your ‘swampy’ shake? I’m guessing maca, chia and spirulina?
    Good luck with your exam! I have a nutrition exam on Wednesday!

    • bonne_santé says:

      Thanks for the advice! I actually tried it for all three meals today *gasp!* and you know what? I actually felt fuller, and more content. Perhaps it’s to do with actually seeing what i’m eating, as opposed to my usual bites-taken-in-between-tab-surfing approach. Terrible!
      The smoothie contains; 1 frozen banana, greens, spirulina, soaked chia seeds, carob powder & rice milk! Maca merely served my rhythmic, chanting purposes haha.
      Ooooh good luck for nutrition as well! I’m not doing it yet, but i’ve heard it’s intense. x

  • […] Avomatato & Amaranth Springtime Salad […]

  • likes_bad_films says:

    hi katey, was just wondering if you added anything (turmeric..?) to your ginger tea to make it so golden? or maybe it is just a trick of the sunlight? my ginger tea is like your tea’s pasty cousin.. although still delicious!
    thanks for all the awesome tips!

    • bonne_santé says:

      Hi there, thanks! No, no turmeric this time – it’s just an excessively yellow mug! I have smushed a fresh piece & added it to the tea before though too, to give it some pigment action (so it’s not so ‘pasty’ as you say, haha!). Or perhaps jaundice would be more appropriate!

  • […] mention an amazing bloggess, Michelle, over at Health Food Lover who was kind enough to feature my amaranth recipes in a recent post. I’m extremely flattered! (And also dubious that some poor souls may be […]

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading More ways with Amaranth; Mindful eating challenge update. at Bonne Santé.

meta