Dietary tweaks.

March 6, 2011 § 10 Comments

Ahoy there!

Mooorrrrning has brroooooookkkeeennnnnnn!

I actually wrote this post about a week ago and it’s been sitting in my drafts giving me the stink eye ever since. It’s kinda tough because it involves some new dietary stuff, so roll with me here.

**************************************************************

I’m going to be extremely self-indulgent today and write a post squarely centered on myself. Oy, the spotlight.

In doing so, I’m less concerned about satisfying my engorged ego than shelling out some real-life experience that could assist others on their own road to health.

Y’all know that my fetish for all things nerdy and nutritional manifests itself in the constant revision of my diet, exercise regieme and lifestyle – I’ve always appreciated that finding a true healthy balance involves a lot of trial, error and evolution. I want to discover a way of being that satisfies not only my ideological viewpoint, but also nourishes my physical and spiritual health.

Being a self-declared fence-sitter (or perhaps just painfully open minded) means that i’m always keen to see things from a different perspective and have never wanted to lock myself into a specific diet or become caught up in dogma.

Experimenting is how I plan to eventually gain enough wisdom and first-hand experience to advise people as a qualified Naturopath/holistic wellness…person (some letters after the name would be nice!) and I’m a firm believer in the fact that not every diet works for every body.

I’m beating around some dense thicket here but basically the gist is, I’m being open minded about my health and the advice as given to me by my naturopath and other people whom I respect. This currently involves a little shift in what i’ve been known to eat.

For example:

That, my friends, is an egg. It may the the first egg to grace the halls of Bonne Santé.

Because I am writing in crazy, staccato, illogical mode right now, I’ll break it down…

Main Point: In the spirit of experimentation, I want to see how adding a few foods I previously considered to be unnecessary/sub-optimal back into my diet makes me feel.

Please note: These eggs are from a local grower who has a small-scale hobby farm and lets his hens roam freely, eat natural food and lay eggs where they wish. The carton came with a little newsletter that is written monthly to update buyers on the farm, hen-related-happenings and even the health of specific named chickens! I am confident that no harm comes to these animals and they are being treated with love and respect. That being said, I still grapple with the overriding philosophical question as to whether we are ever entitled to ‘own’ and use for our benefit, another living creature. In this sense, I cannot defend the choice to consume eggs and must sit with my internal conflict. I also wish to point out that I am in no way intending to eat meat again – I understand it’s value in a lot of diets and as always, cast no judgement, but for me I feel better energetically without it. I cannot reconcile with eating dead animals and although some may feel that eating any animal product is to be complicit in their worldwide abuse, I’ve chosen to simply see how I go.

Why? : Ever since I did my raw experiment at the end of last year, I haven’t been feeling so great. Not that I attribute this to the diet in any way; merely to illustrate a time frame. Apart from being hard-pressed to shake a recurring throat infection, I also find myself snacking like a deranged beggar (esp. after dinner), irritable/moody/heinously wench-like and displaying some worrying patterns of un-healthy thinking about ‘good’ and ‘bad’ foods. Enjoying optimum health sometimes involves not thinking too hard about it, and I don’t want to become so rigid in my eating that it defeats the original purpose – to seize life by it’s man parts and enjoy the hell out of it.

I also want to eat mindfully (both in the not under/over eating sense, and ethically) and give my body what it truly needs so that I can squeeze the most out of every day. If this means incorporating some chicken menses a few times a week, then so be it.

UPDATE: One week later, and I’ve chowed through some happy hen-offerings and mulled things over. I appreciate that eggs are an amazing source of many essential vitamins and nutrients, not to mention a complete protein source and a convenient snack, however they’re still something I’m debating bringing back into my diet. They taste SO RICH to me now, and it’s not necessarily a flavour or sensation I crave. A big HMMMMMMMMMMM to the yolkers.

*****************************************************************

In other news, Notella has officially been usurped. Ousted. Replaced.

Meet my new lickable lover – honey roasted almond butter.

Holy butterballs.

I made a variation on Ashley’s Maple Roasted Cinnamon Butter, and my life will never be the same.

Then I took it up a notch by investing in some blindingly white and criminally crusty jewish sourdough to act as a vehicle for this obscene specimen of butterisation.

I eat bread rarely, but when I do, it’s gonna be freshly-baked, doughy decadence.

MORE INFO ON ALMOND BUTTER TO COME!

Now, I leave you with some pictures from my weekend antics. Mardi Gras themes – parental supervision required.

Peace and man-thongs to you all! x

§ 10 Responses to Dietary tweaks.

  • Jenny says:

    I applaud your honesty:) And I love the chicken farmer, what a sweet thing to do for the chickens!

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Thanks for the support Jenny! Yes, the newsletter was so cute, and it was ‘written’ by one of the chickens – hilarious!

  • Aubrey says:

    Good for you it’s all about finding what works for you and not stressing cuz that isn’t healthy either!

    Hey maybe could you add my blog to your blogroll please. I’ll add yours of course:)

  • Glad you are taking steps and experimenting to find what works the best for you!! We are doing the same thing you are! It is all about finding what works for each individual person 🙂 Good luck!!!

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Seems we’re always experimenting huh? One day we’ll land on perfect health! And have fun in the meantime 🙂
      Thanks girls, and good luck to you too!

  • Jacci says:

    I demand the recipe for the honey roasted almond butter!

    pretty please with honey roasted almonds on top?

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Soon my pretty!
      Since you asked so nicely, I’ll make it my mission to actually keep my recipe promises 😀

  • This would be the first post I have read of yours and I must say… I LOVE it! 🙂 Fun stuff here, I know it.

    So, glad you’re feeling good with the added egg… I did a raw food diet for about 10 months before I decided to add in some cooked food again. It made me feel great but after a while I started to get rundown and spacey.

    Anyway, love the nut butter and those spoons! Where is everyone getting those cute little spoons?? 🙂

  • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

    Hey Lori!
    Thanks so much for stopping by!
    It’s interesting the way people’s diets evolve – i’m keen to read more of your posts as I love how open you are with your diet, not to mention some killer workout routines 🙂
    Hehe the spoons are from a random kitchen shop. They were actually in the kids’ section. I was attracted to the bright, shiny section and found them there!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dietary tweaks. at Bonne Santé.

meta

