Notella, by request.

February 24, 2011 § 27 Comments

After months of attending classes on OH&S, appropriate client/practitioner relations (apparently sexy massage is NOT within the scope of Naturopathy) and how to tell a foot from an arm, we have finally landed on the juicy stuff at school.

Nutrition. Herbs. Homeopathy. You name it, we are brewing it up in our big bubbling cauldrons.

The issue is that learning about nutrition, whilst fun and informative, tends to send the whole class into a strange state of culinary nostalgia. Analysing sugars prompts us to recall allllll the iridescent candy we consumed as children, one-upping each other with tales of cookie binges, 10-slice wonder-bread sandwich monstrosities and inevitably, Nutella. Eaten with a spoon from the jar, of course. Occasionally with some bread on top.

Reminiscing about all the ways we used to eat, snort and swim in Nutella got me thinking that I should try to replicate this kiddie-crack at home, with fewer & far more wholesome ingredients.

Presenting my first attempt at NOTella.

Vegan Notella, for the nut-butter enthusiast.

I was really happy with how this turned out, however it does not have quite the same taste & texture as the revered original. Being exceedingly wholesome, palm-oil free and homemade however gives it tons of extra foodie cred for me. The process of making a nut-butter yourself while requiring a little more time and patience is an exciting exercise for the closet Nutella fiend.

You will need:

  • Food processor fitted with the S blade (you cannot do this in your blender, sorry kids)
  • Approx. 4 cups raw organic hazelnuts
  • 1/2 t celtic sea salt
  • 2 T raw cacao powder
  • 2 T (generous) happy local honey or vegan sweetener (agave/maple)
  • 1 t room temperature extra virgin coconut oil
  • Glass jars for storage

Assemble army of raw hazelnuts; novelty spoon optional.

Lay the nuts out on an oven tray lined with baking paper and toast for 8-10 minutes at 200 degrees C. It’s important to keep checking them as they will burn in a snap if you forget about them whilst thinking of more clever veg*n food puns (chick-un, tofurkey…dad joke central).

Why not sterilize your jars while you wait?

After removing from the oven and allowing them to cool, try to de-shell as many nuts as possible by rubbing them between your fingers or a tea-towel. This gets rid of the extra husk and will make for a smoother end result, but don’t get too hung up about it for every second you waste is keeping you from your Notella destiny.

Place the hazelnuts in your food processor beast and begin the epic process of turning solid, stubborn nuts into compliant, creamy butter.

Stage one: quietly confident.

Stage two: minutes have passed and you’re now quietly confident that I’m a lying vegan scoundrel.

Stage three: 8 minutes and 3-thousand side-scrapings later, you remove Bonne Santé from your bookmarks bar.

Stage four: it starts to come together; your minimal faith in my recipe credibility is restored!

Stage five: FIST PUMP! 12-15 minutes of processing and a suspected case of tinnitus from the perpetual whirring later, NUT BUTTER IS FORMED!

It’s important to keep processing even after it starts to look buttery, because it takes an extra couple of minutes for the nuts to release their luscious oils.

To make it more true to Nutella, I stirred in 2 T raw cacao powder, 2 heaping T of organic honey, 1/2 t sea salt and 1 t coconut oil after the butter had formed. I have read that it’s best to delay adding other ingredients until you’ve processed the bollocks out of the nuts because it can mess with the chemical/magical butterisation, but other recipes call for the addition of oils & sweeteners as you go, so I imagine you could get creative. My additions are also not overly sweet or rich, so feel free to amp up the cacao content and get decadent. Yields around 2.5 cups.

Bows recommended.

The perfect gift!

Now, to see if it will last until Nutrition class on Monday 🙂

§ 27 Responses to Notella, by request.

  • Shellet says:

    Yum! Definitely trying this, thanks for the recipe!

  • We made some hazelnut butter the other day….we should of added chocolate. It has been awhile since we made nutella. YUM!

  • AMAZING! AMAZING! AMAZING!

    I am definitely trying this out! Seriously Katey, this is genius and I love it!
    I am going to get some ingredients tomorrow and get this baby happening.

    Allez allez, j’adore bonne santé!
    Les noisette je vais les cuisiner!
    c’est fantastique comme la foudre
    Les noisette je vais les moudre!

    Vive Bonne Santé!

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Merci Jacques, cette chanson est trop mignon 🙂
      J’ai la buerre des noisettes pour la classe, donc tu n’as besoin de la faire toi-même.
      Essayer avant t’achetes!

  • paijery says:

    First pump!! Bookmarked!!

  • I may or may not have had my paws in my housemates nutella the other day…whoops. Will have to try this!! Although not sure I can be trusted around even the healthiest of chocolatey, nutty, sweet things… You are hilarious by the way

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      I’m glad my housemates no longer buy nutella.
      Instead, they insist on having a jar of smooth kraft peanut butter in the cupboard at all times. Childhood habits die hard…

  • I might go out and buy a food processor JUST for this! Looks delicious!

  • Jenny says:

    I just FREAKED when I saw the notella recipe! Thanks for sharing, I am definitely going to make this:)

  • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

    Thanks Jenny! Nut butters are my newest obsession 🙂

  • […] other news, Notella has officially been usurped. Ousted. […]

  • Eselpee says:

    Please subscribe

  • […] Pull out your almonds, but not too soon! They will be a huge sticky conglomeration of lurrrve. Allow to cool for 10-20 minutes, or until rock solid. Speaking of rock solid, I should warn you that at this stage the nuts will be…rock solid. Grab a spatula, put your back into it, and chisel the nuts off the paper. Place in food processor and blend for around 15 minutes, until it has gone through the various stages of compliance (better explained here). […]

  • Lindsey in CO says:

    Made this fabulous NOTella this morning! I’ve been looking forward to it all week and it was totally worth the wait 🙂 Can’t wait to share a few of the little jars of goodness with my friends!

  • Jana says:

    I was so excited till I scrolled back up to see the exact recipe list (bass-akwards I know) and my heart sunk to see coconut oil… I’m like violently allergic to coconut, what can I substitute it with if anything?

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Hey Jana, such a shame about the allergy!
      Yes, you can definitely sub something else in in place of coconut oil. Most other nut butters that i’ve seen bloggers make use grapeseed, sunflower or safflower oil – any lighter tasting one should work fine!

      • Jana says:

        Awesome! Thank you, now that I’m trying to dive into the worlds of vegan, vegetarian, vegetarian-ish lol coconut keeps coming up EVERYWHERE!!! Do you think almond oil might work also? I’m trying to get off dairy (at least mostly) so I tried almond milk for the first time this last week…

  • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

    Haha yes the whole-foods community is definitely going nutty for coconut products right now! I haven’t had experience using almond or other nut oils before, but i’m sure that they would work just fine. Even macadamia oil might be a scrumptious inclusion 🙂
    Hope you like the almond milk, and welcome welcome welcome to plant-based living!

    • Jana says:

      I accidentally bought unsweetened almond milk! But it was interesting enough I think I’d like it in the sweetened version, I REALLY liked Chocolate Silk though, takes away all the stuff I didn’t like about milk any way! Already went through a half gallon in a couple days!

  • Sami says:

    Just found your blog! I’m really having trouble deciding which recipe to try first. But this may have won. Can’t resist a bit of nutty, chocolatey sweetness! Off to try it out now…Yum!

  • Lindsay says:

    Katey — I just made this with a hazelnut/cashew combo. YUM!!!!!!!!! I’m actually using it as a recipe for the gluten-free baking class I’m teaching on Saturday, so THANK YOU for the inspiration and deliciousness.

    xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Notella, by request. at Bonne Santé.

meta

