Words from Wolfe.

February 19, 2011 § 12 Comments

This morning I slothed out of bed at 6am, ready to make good on my promise of running before work as the sun rose. Once the initial indignation of waking at 6 on a Saturday in the dark subsided, I set out to enjoy a nice 4o minute jog amongst all the other (smug) perky fitness enthusiasts.

I love early mornings, but lately I’ve been sticking to 7am quite happily and losing an hour seemed like a rude insult. I’m aiming for 5am next week, so i’ll have a solid 2 hours of tea-sipping before I have to even think about leaving the house. Worth it? Yes.

Anyway, when I was out jogging a group of older runners came up alongside me and we started chatting. Turns out, they had already done 20kms and were training for an ultra marathon! Respect grand-daddies, respect.

Love the people you meet by chance who inadvertently inspire you.

****************************************************

Now, more about health, less about my pre-breakfasting habits!

As you know I went to see David Wolfe on Thursday night here in Sydney. As I entered the event, I was immediately struck by his charisma and warmth, roaming around chatting animatedly to the attendees. He visibly glows with health and vitality – and that mop! I had ringlet envy.

Nicknamed David ‘Avocado’ Wolfe

I’ll share with you some of the main points I scrawled down in a frenzy of enlightenment:

  • “Being healthy has nothing to do with suffering” – I wish more people knew this!!
  • We should all live by the concept of ‘adding on’ and upgrading our diets, rather than cutting things out in some puritanical, rigid way. This allows you to access the ‘psychology of success’ which rewards your efforts, & focuses on adding as opposed to subtracting.
  • “Success is a refined study of the obvious” – How often do we know WHAT to do, but cannot effectively implement it?
  • Do what you will do rather than what you know you’ll never do – do not set yourself up to fail by creating unrealistic goals/rules.
  • Wearing shoes = oppression! Hahah I love this.
  • Alkalinity/alkaline diet basically grants you a more negative charge (like the earth). The atmosphere is positive and all the vital elements we need will flow more freely into our bodies if we are like magnets attracting the positive charge. Fill yourself up with substances of the earth (pigments/antioxidants/noble substances) and facilitate this transfer!
  • “Get in the way of all good things” – place yourself in the path of opportunity & success!
  • There is too much food fanaticism – drop the judgement. Judgement and denial create riffs & tears in the fabric of reality and deliver us back to the very thing we originally judged and denied.
  • Nutrients inspire noble thoughts.
  • I liked the way David said “My message is the way I live & not more than that” (explaining why he doesn’t engage in things like animal rights activism etc).

 

Super food goodness:

  • David places a strong emphasis on consuming foods with a dense nutritional profile that deliver potent antioxidants, vitamins, minerals and other amazing constituents. He believes we are noble creatures and therefore should eat superlative foods.

Punchy crunchy pomegranate

  • Betaine (found in beets) is incredibly powerful for detoxifying as it acts as a methyl-donor and can subsequently convert homocysteine to methionine (high levels of homocysteine in the blood has been implicated in increased risk of atherosclerosis, heart disease & stroke). Ca-ca-ca-crazzzzy!
  • Purple corn has a pigment that acts as an antidepressant & potent antioxidant.
  • Reishi mushroom is a phenomenal immune enhancer and restores balance to the body.
  • Stinging nettle is great for improving bone density & has antihistamine & anti-inflammatory actions.
  • Button mushrooms help lower ‘bad estrogen’.
  • Olive oil – top 5 foods for longevity, as well as:
  • Honey
  • Garlic
  • Cinnamon
  • And of course, Cacao! (According to 109-year old raw-foodist Bernando LaPallo)
  • Foods look like their nutritional function ie. An avocado is a uterus!

  • Asparagus root has shown amazing anti-cancer potential (credited to the immune boosting polysaccharides).
  • A constituent of Astragalus (Chinese herb for immunity) called TA65, has shown remarkable promise for helping to reverse telomere shortening (it is theorised that the cleaving of base pairs from telomeres in our DNA results in ageing & death). INCREDIBLE RIGHT?!
  • Purslane may have similar properties that are being investigated.
  • Cacao is fantastic for asthma!

Raw chocolate treats

  • We have our very own superfood here in Australia – the Kakadu Plum! Thought to be the richest food source of vitamin C!
  • Cat’s Claw & Pau D’arco kill Candida.
  • Sea plasma is thought to reverse genetic defects.

That’s my slap-dash recount of some interesting key points. Now go forth and research my pretties!

xxxx

 

 

§ 12 Responses to Words from Wolfe.

  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Robert A Adjutant and Michelle Robson, Katey Payne. Katey Payne said: Words from Wolfe. http://wp.me/pxLPb-yN […]

  • Shellet says:

    This is some great info, and I knew nothing about it before reading this post so thanks 🙂

    And avocado looking like a uterus? SO TRUE. I will never look at one the same way again hah.

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      I know right?! Avocados look like uteruses, walnuts look like brains, celery looks like bones, tomatoes have the 4 chambers like the heart, a sliced carrot resembles the human eye…amazing stuff!

  • paijery says:

    There are so many things I like about this post:
    1. “Slothed out of bed”. This is the story of my life.
    2.”Respect grand-daddies, respect.” Bahahaha 😀
    3. All your scribbled down points, especially points one and two. Amen D. Wolfe!
    4.Betaine fact. I never knew! I actually didn’t know any of super food points. Cat’s claw kills candida?? I have so much research to do.
    5. Avocado uterus. Oh my.
    6. Everything else 🙂

    PS. Your photos are ridiculous!! I love the pomegranate and strawberry one!

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Glad you understood my nonsensical scribblings! There were a lot of little interesting facts that blew me away, but too many to explain in detail – hence the laziness!
      Thanks for the photo love – yours are looking mighty fine these days too I might add 🙂

  • […] dezvoltarea virusilor si a altor microorganisme patogene. Un subiect din aceeasi categorie aici: https://bonnesante.wordpress.com/2011/02/19/words-from-wolfe/ Tags: antifungic, intarirea imunitatii, pau d'arco candida, tratare […]

  • Jacci says:

    Loved this post Katey! Just loved it! I especially loved the bit about the top 5 foods for longevity (olive oil, cinnamon, honey, garlic and cacao!) I eat these almost everyday!! I’m gonna start taking cinnamon away to work with me so I can have it on my brekkie!

    Also: Being healthy has nothing to do with suffering

    FANTASTIC!!

    You are my Jedi Master! Teach me the ways of the (food) force!

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Isn’t it great when you think to yourself…’I totally do that!’ Looks like we’ll both be making it past 100!
      Patience young padawan, you will be jedified yet 🙂
      (Actually, think you’re doing pretty darn well now – you’re inspiring ME!)

  • jjaci says:

    I was going to quit the pill next month! …then I chickened out. I have about two weeks left of my “last” packet…but of course, I changed my mind and did the “just one more pack…after that…” thing.

    Let us know how it goes. 🙂 I wish you well!

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Thanks Jjaci!
      I’m weeing myself a little, but ill keep you posted & maybe it wont be so bad! Good luck yourself!

  • Love all that info from David Wolfe! (love him!) This one particularly struck a chord with me:

    “Success is a refined study of the obvious” – How often do we know WHAT to do, but cannot effectively implement it?

    Um, yes! I am STUDYING nutrition, so I know what to do, but it’s still hard to hold ourselves accountable sometimes…

    Good job on the running, too! I’m traveling for work this week, and the time difference it making it extra-hard to wake up that early– but you’re motivating me to make the effort this week!

  • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

    Thanks Megan! He certainly had some thought provoking quotes.
    Good luck with the motivation! Maybe we should feed off each other because I may or may not have failed in my 5am attempts this morning…but it was windy and wet, what can I say!? Tomorrow i’ll send you happy running vibes!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Words from Wolfe. at Bonne Santé.

meta

