No resolutions, but plenty of goals.

January 3, 2011 § 14 Comments

How did everyone pull up after the wild NYE celebrations? I emerged relatively unscathed as I am, what my goon-guzzling friends would call, ‘soft’.

I prefer responsible.

Truth is, I enjoy a good red. An expensive white. And perhaps if i’m feeling crazy, one of each. But I’m not ashamed to say, my days of downing tequila shots and hooking vodka to my veins are well and truly a memory of my 17-year-old self.

I actually have more fun when i’m not trying to avoid barfing all over the D-floor, and feel irritated with the hardcore drinking culture in Australia that seems to dictate anything less than 3 Jaeger Bombs per hour is sacrilege. But I guess if that’s what floats your dingy, then so be it.

Although i’m a little late with the end-of-year, new-beginnings theme, I wanted to share some of my goals for 2011.

I say goals because i’m never really one for New Year’s resolutions. I normally resolve not to keep any, thus leaving me in an endless paradox…

I also think the word ‘resolution’ implies a more rigid, fiercely defended, all-or-nothing approach that I see all too often with friends who go crazy eating, drinking and partying in the lead up to new years’, resolving to quit the excesses cold turkey at midnight on the 1st of January. I’m not judging those people who do, because I’m definitely guilty of adopting a ‘start-afresh-tomorrow’ attitude…but I have to ask myself, is this resolution really sustainable? Or will it end as spectacularly as it began?

This is why I prefer to have goals, with an emphasis on progress, learning and chip-chip-chipping away at something bigger.

So what are they?

In no particular order….

1. Attempt a half-marathon.

Attempt, people, attempt. This one scares me the most. If i’m a soft drinker, then I’m a wibbly puddle of goo when it comes to pain, endurance and mental stamina. But we are all capable of greater things than we know, right? So with that in mind, I’m taking it on. Maybe. Perhaps. We’ll see.

OH GOD IT’S ON THE GOALS BOARD, THAT MEANS ITS GOSPEL!

2. Think long and hard about coming off the pill.

I wrote a post not too long ago about the pro’s and con’s of the BCP, and on the advice of many individuals in the natural health scene, I feel it is something I want to eliminate from my life. This one may be on par in scariness with #1, because I know it’s going to be a crazy rollercoaster that could take years to even out my poor bedraggled hormones.

3. Save for a trip and travel to Japan.

Unfortunately I’ve never been one to prioritize travel; i’d rather save for material things, appliances, or organic leafy greens. This has to change, because while nice objects are pleasant, it’s all about our experiences and adventures. And Japan is somewhere i’ve wanted to go for eons; looks fascinating!

4. Be more spontaneous! Make the most of every opportunity.

In simple terms; stop being such a nanna. I tend to become quite set in my ways and dislike last-minute plans and unexpected changes. This is mainly because I like to know what i’m doing each day in advance, set mini-goals and never just have empty, open ‘free time’. It would certainly pay to be more flexible, and welcome a little spontaneity.

5. Improve at yoga and incorporate it into my daily practice.

I’ve been intimidated by yoga for as long as I can remember. This is because I have the flexibility of a corpse undergoing rigor mortis, and I also find it hard to relax and sit still. I know it’s one of those highly beneficial, life-extending activities, and i’m determined to eventually be able to touch my toes/shins/knees.

6. Include regular strength straining. Channel Arnie.

Building lean muscle will not only boost my metabolism and increase my strength and stamina, but also equip me with a rippling set of guns. I want guns.

7. Make a dentists appointment & remove amalgam fillings.

Holy baloney, you don’t want to know how long it’s been between dental examinations. It’s one of those things I never give any concern to, but probably should for the sake of my 2 remaining front teeth. Also, I don’t want poisonous mercury fillings gumming up my jaw anymore.

8. Start growing plants in the garden.

I already have an awesome little herb garden thanks to a dear friend that I got for my birthday, but I’d like to have a few more pots and start growing some herbs for everyday use. Currently, I’m excelling at cultivating this creepy species of yellow mould in the soil of the few pots I have, so I think I need to turn my yellow thumb green and wise up on horticulture.

9. Volunteer at local retirement village.

I gained so much out of my trip to the old folks home on Christmas day, so I want to check out any local opportunities to regularly connect with, and give some time to ageing residents.

10. Spend less on groceries each week. Implement smarter spending.

Self-explanatory. I splurge on consumables.

11. Experiment with raw and fermented foods in the kitchen.

I’m in such a food rut right now. I need to collect a few awesome recipes and become more familiar with creative raw cuisine, and of course, overcome my fear of ‘living’ foods that grow & ferment. Kefir tops this list.

12. Take a photography class.

I’ve loved photography for a long time, but since the acquisition of my delicious DSLR, I’d love to get some professional help in taking better pictures. Not just blindly adjusting the settings until the photo is no longer black

Well, there you have my master to-do-list for the year. I can’t wait to tick them off one by one, up the ante next year and be even more of a petrified mess come January 1st 2012.

I know many of you have also shared your own goals on your blogs, so a collective bonne chance to everyone for the year ahead!


§ 14 Responses to No resolutions, but plenty of goals.

  • Great goals, girl!
    I’m glad you’ve had such an awesome time on NYE.
    Happy 2011!
    xoxo

  • jjaci says:

    I agree about the Aussie culture of drinking issue, i’ve been away at a holiday house with a group of friends for the past few days, and everyones opinion of alcohol becomes very apparent very quickly. When I wasn’t drinking anything I got, “wow, at least drink SOMETHING…geez, how much of a prude would you want to be?” but when I decided, “hm, I feel like drinking a premixed lolly-water vodka substance…” I got “haha, bringing out the BIIIG strong drinks there, arentcha? Jesus, have some shots at least!” ARGH!!!! It’s either guzzle a bottle of vodka, or get out, isn’t it? They drink every day and every night, and I decide I don’t want to drink one night, and they start asking me if I have “financial issues,” Sometimes people don’t drink because they don’t WANT to…I have drinks in the fridge, it doesn’t mean I want to drink them!

    Excellent goals, we share a lot of the same wants! I would loooove to go to Japan, I have always wanted to go. Dentist is always at the top of my priorities, and I best be thinking about the next steps there, i’ve always intended on going to a yoga class…(I did some yoga randomly a few years ago when a show came on tv and loved it) i’m an epic nanna and need to try some new things AND I need to experiment in the kitchen with veggies as I don’t do it very often. Neither my boyfriend or myself know how to use our big scary camera with many functions…

    My goodness, we’re the same person!

    I found this post very inspiring, because I was having issues thinking of goals for the year. Speaking of goals and resolutions, I don’t like resolutions or trying to cut things off in the new year…resolutions seem to go nowhere, goals stay around a bit longer and always stick in the back of my mind.

    You’re an awesome blogger, you kicked me into gear, might be time to get started on my own post!

    • bonne_santé says:

      Thanks Jjaci! Definitely sounds like we have a lot of common goals for the new year! Good luck with yours and let the Japan travel fund amass!
      x

  • Shellet says:

    I’m the same with alcohol, and I also get irritated at the drinking culture here, where people think less of you if you don’t go out and drink every weekend.

    Personally I’d rather be able to function than spend all morning in bed😉

  • Oh dear. I got all too reacquainted with my 17-year-old self this New Years. Time to practice a little self-forgiveness but even more time to practice a little more self control! Love your goals (I just put into effect your goal number 2, we’ll see how it goes), and good luck channeling Arnie😉 x

    • bonne_santé says:

      Ooooh yes you will have to keep me posted! I am muchos curious…and still putting it off! I know it’s gonna be ugly.
      Operation Arnie is in effect!

  • Hey Katey!

    These are great goals!

    I too agree about how bad drinking is in our culture! For a lot of people, it seems like they are bordering on being alcoholic but drinking a lot is assumed normal.

    Yay I’m so glad you want to try some fermented foods! I love them! And good news for you that there are heaps of vegan fermented foods. Today I jarred (meaning I put in jars) some cultured beetroot and kimchi! Yum! I especially love kimchi, it’s really tasty! I’m getting a kombucha scoby soon, so if it has babies and you would like to try it I can send you one. I’ve made water kefir and milk kefir in the past too and sauerkraut. You know a few months ago I met the lady who wrote our food as medicine course (but I think the name of the class has changed now) and we chatted a bit about fermented foods which was cool.
    For the next month I’m eating fermented foods with every meal as part of the GAPS dietary protocol, so if you have any questions about them just ask🙂.

    Raw foods: a great book on raw foods that I love is ‘Ani’s Raw Food Desserts’- it’s such a great book I love it! And I love this raspberry ganache cake recipe: http://oneluckyduck.com/news/tag/raspberry-ganache-fudge-cake/ (make it Katey, make it!). Really yummy!

    I also love your yoga goal because I love yoga and I need to get back into it!

    Happy new year Katey!

    • bonne_santé says:

      You are so awesomely helpful Michelle! I love the raw cake link…pretty sure I dreamed about making it last night. I HAVE TO try my hand at raw un-baking soon!
      I’ll also be hitting you up for advice when I come to growing/sprouting/fermenting my own delicious delicacies, because I know you’re a wizard with these things!
      All the best for the new year xxx

  • Great goals to have…I have some of the same, like do more yoga. It was a goal of mine last year too, I hope to do better this year! Well you know we love our raw and fermented foods! Just take your time with it. Let your body guide you🙂

    • bonne_santé says:

      Letting my body guide me is definitely an overarching theme for the new year! Thanks for the awesome advice, as always🙂

  • Kirsten says:

    Great post and goals! From experience I highly recommend goals 2 3 and 8🙂
    Good luck with it all xo

  • I love how natural and healthy your goals are!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading No resolutions, but plenty of goals. at Bonne Santé.

meta

