Sour puss.

December 22, 2010 § 11 Comments

Ever since  I was a wee lass, I’ve had an unhealthy obsession with lemon.

Lemon squeezed on toast, lemon on steak (ick), lemon used in all manner of potentially wrong and mind-boggling combinations.

Lucky for me, this bizarre fetish turned out to be exceptionally healthy.

Lemons have been revered throughout history for their medicinal and therapeutic value; the Romans considered them a weapon against all types of poisoning and Ayurvedic medicine uses them for…well…pretty much everything.

On and off throughout the last couple of years, and now religiously of a morning, I wake up and skull a mega glass of water with the juice of half a lemon squeezed in. If it’s organic, I just throw the whole hunk in there at the end for easier refills!

Let me spin the lemon sales-pitch:

  • Despite being acidic in taste, lemon juice is highly alkalizing. (An alkaline internal environment is less-hospitable to disease and chronic illness).
  • Lemon helps to detoxify, heal and restore the liver, and is currently being trialled as a remedy for hepatitis, liver cancer and AIDS!
  • When consumed in warm water on an empty stomach, it can help relieve constipation.
  • Consuming lemon in water before meals also helps to stimulate digestion. (Just remember not to drink too much too close to meal times – copious amounts of liquid can dilute stomach secretions).
  • It is a potent anti-bacterial – proven effective against a range of infectious pathogens such as malaria, cholera, diphtheria and typhoid which are destroyed in lemon-juice
  • As you all know, it is high in vitamin C – a necessary vitamin & anti-oxidant that supports immune function, lessens oxidative stress, synthesizes collagen (goodbye premature wrinkles!), acts an an anti-histamine and is currently being investigated in megadoses for the treatment of cancer.
  • Helpful in treating acute and chronic conditions of the mouth and gums.
  • The vitamin C content also helps in calcium metabolism.
  • Beautifying properties – I rub lemon on my skin if i’m having a breakout and leave it to dry. It works quite well to reduce acne scarring and dry out flare-ups.

Yesterday I had the pleasure of sauntering downstairs to the little garden out the back of my mum’s apartment, and plucking a fresh ripe lemon straight from the tree. I threw half in the blender, pith and all, with some fresh mint that I also snagged, water and ice and a small dollop of honey.

Refreshing!

I did remember to thank the tree afterwards though, and give it a soothing pat. Why? I was watching this crazy show called Weird or what? with William Shatner (best. host. ever. So much suspense between sentences!) and it looked at these amazing experiments conducted on plants. A plant was hooked up to a lie detector (that basically measures changes in physiological reactions) while a man cut off a stem. Incredibly, the lie detector registered a huge spike before the guy made the cut – as he was approaching with scissors. They did other experiments too, and the consensus was that plants may have some kind of consciousness and ability to feel. I’ve long been a believer in this theory, and my mum, avid gardener, subscribes wholeheartedly to the notion that touching and caressing plants will help them grow.

The question is, if plants have feelings…..WHAT THE HELL WILL I EAT NOW?

Breatharian anyone?

xxx

Thoughts on lemons/plants with ESP?

§ 11 Responses to Sour puss.

  • GirlonRaw says:

    Oh Bonne you are a girl after my own heart! I live for lemon & mint drink also and when I was a kid, I use to eat lemons like oranges with my granddad. Even now I love lemon and sugar crepes, and my favourite salad dressing is a lemon and honey and black pepper one I make. Lemon and mint drink is very popular in the middle east too.

  • bonne_santé says:

    Ah lemon and sugar crepes! Another childhood favourite.
    Glad someone else shares my citrus fetish! x

  • Roselie says:

    Interesting thoughts… ut then agasin we need to distinguish reactions from feelings(soul). Instictively trying to avoid touching hot or cold surfaces doesn’t make us have, love makes us, empathy, sacrifice etc. All these the animals have them and its crystal clear. The plants? I don’t think so but then again I ‘m not sure.We have to find out more. And the thought of them having a soul terrifies me as well.
    And I love my glass of water with lemon as well! Feels great in the morning,that and meditation…

    • bonne_santé says:

      Interesting thoughts Roselie. You make a good point about distinguishing between simple physiological reactions and a soul. I still think plants are really special and have an amazing energy, that perhaps we do not yet fully understand! x

  • Roselie says:

    Oops I forgot to correct it I meant “but then again”. I think I ‘m writing on my computer for too long, off too make ginseng and lemon tea!

  • Love lemons!!! I have one almost every day 😉 The best!!!

  • I love lemons too! One of my fav ingredients!
    By the way- I LOVE your new photos! Which camera did you end up getting?

    • bonne_santé says:

      Knew you’d be in the lemon lovin’ club Michelle 🙂
      I ended up getting the canon 550D. I had my sights set on the 7D but for the money and the fact I am just a beginner, I am stoked with the one I have. Did you say you just got one/are getting one too? What type?
      Hope you’re having a lovely Christmas!! x

      • Michelle (Health Food Lover) says:

        Ohh that’s a good’n! Yours is a really good one! I have the canon rebel which I think is the 100D. I got mine because David Lebovitz has the same one :).
        Have a great Christmas and keep inspiring us all with your lovely eats too!

      • bonne_santé says:

        Totally took D. Lebovitz’s camera suggestions too! I got the 50mm lens he recommended for food shots.
        Hope you’re having an awesome break – happy new year!

  • Me too, lemon obsessed!!!!
    ps, LOVE how your blog has had a re-vamp to go with the new fabulous photographs, looks great! xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sour puss. at Bonne Santé.

meta

