Low fat is HARD! Raw days 8 & 9.

November 19, 2010 § 9 Comments

Hello friends!

Here we are at day 9 raw. Who’d a thunk it? I’m continuing to love this experiment, and am convinced my diet can never incorporate the amount of cooked food as I ate pre-trial. That being said, I suspect I will need to wiiiiiiiise up on all things diverse and creative in the recipe department  to ensure I can keep eating high raw and not feel uninspired or bored by my food choices. I also have yet to come up against any painfully awkward social outings or family gatherings (where I know they will suspect I have officially crossed over to the land of tree fondlers and rampant nudists)…explaining my kooky dietary ways may get messy!

The only thing I am having trouble adhering to is the low-fat rule of the 80/10/10 school – in which no more than 10% calories from fat is regarded as optimal. Many raw foodists look to pounds of nuts and avocado to fulfill their daily calorie needs, however an excess of fat is considered by the low-fat-raw-vegans as detrimental to health. I wanted to try to abide by this as best I could because the nutritional defects of overt fat consumption are compelling, but i’m finding it VERY difficult to consume enough fruit & veg to satisfy my monstrous needs… and also my wallet is on strike.

What to do? Should I incorporate sprouted psuedo-grains? Throw caution to the wind and just embrace a few more nuts? Or keep embarrassing myself at the store by returning for abnormal amounts of bananas every second day? Tis a dilemma, to be sure.

Yesterday, I experimented with raw pesto-pasta to satisfy a bit of a salt craving.

I blended sunflower seeds, fresh basil, olive-oil, savoury yeast & raw garlic to produce a fairly respectable vegan pesto replica. Served over spiralized zucchini, spinach and fresh tomato, it was quite a nice departure from the simplicity of a salad,  or mono-meal of oranges.

I didn’t feel very well after eating it though; my stomach was quite heavy and I felt it was overly rich. I immediately wanted fruit.

Later, I satisfied my desire for fresh, lighter flavours with a berry & avocado pudding, with a small amount of raw honey and loaded with spinach. Hit the spot.

I found myself wishing later in the evening that I could bake a batch of cookies, or eat a big bowl of brown rice & beans which suggests to me I still need to eat more…and have been reading too many food blogs. But I will definitely be incorporating these things back into the 10% cooked of my planned 90% raw diet post-experiment.

Other things of interest include:

  • Skin is still clear & soft
  • Nails are really white & strong
  • Mental clarity is pretty good (for a certified scatterbrain); I find i’m pondering more than usual &  become extremely excited about the future for no apparent reason (apart from the fact that it’s going to ROCK!)
  • I actually weighed myself at a friends house yesterday (a rarity) and have lost about 1 kilo. I didn’t really have any goals in that department, but was feeling a lot lighter & less jiggly so was interested to see the results. No complaints.

Today for lunch I had a decadent three course-meal consisting of the following:

Seaweed salad…

Banana, carob and spinach green smoothie…

Giganto salad with kale, carrot, zucchini, beetroot, coriander and orange.

I am exceptionally talented at squeezing obscene amounts of food into one small fist-sized stomach sac.

That’s it for another riveting recap! Hope you all have good things in store for the weekend! Me? I’m working to fund my habit🙂

§ 9 Responses to Low fat is HARD! Raw days 8 & 9.

  • Lindsay says:

    Glad you’re still excited about it!

    Why don’t you try a little bit of sprouted grains and see how you feel? I think a little bit of moderation could work well, and keep you closer to the raw plan than if you end up binging on cookies…

    • bonne_santé says:

      I WILL be trying sprouted things, as per your directions! I got so excited seeing the sprouting tutorial on your blog – must take the leap and start making ‘scary’ sprouted/fermented foods, asap.
      Binging on cookies? Definitely a premonition… whoops!

  • Hey Katey, I love this trial and the updates! I found it so hard to stick to low fat too when I was trying to do LFRV. For someone who’s used to scoffing 2 or 3 avocados a day (yes, I should probably be checked into AA: Avoholics Anonymous), it was sheer torture! I honestly feel like a higher fat high-raw diet might a well worthwhile transitional step between a cooked vegan diet and LFRV. It just seems more doable in this (crazy!) modern world we live in and because of the fact that our lifestyles and diets are naturally more acidic these days and therefore all the highly cleansing fruit might not sit so well upon all that acid waste in the body. Plus, we’re not bouncing around for hours a day (which the copious amounts of fruit help fuel)…well, at a least I’m not! I know what you mean about the fruit “high” though. It’s pretty awesome.
    I think your plan to come back to a 90% raw diet is a great one, that’s something I’m aiming for (I know I talk the talk but I’m so not there yet… still having difficulties eating a ‘clean’ diet, let along very high raw).
    Keep us posted on how you’re doing! xo
    PS that pesto looks A-MAZING.

    • bonne_santé says:

      Thanks Kate! See blog for raw status update/incoherent rant.
      I am totally taking your advice and going easier on the fat restriction. Avocados are just too beautiful to shun; I want them, I need them, oh baby, oh baby.
      Hope you’re going well post-birthday craziness!

  • Kirsten says:

    Hey Katey I love love love your blog! Wondering if you could please send a couple of recipes for your most favourite smoothies/puddings because they look delishhhhhhhhhhh but I wouldn’t know where to start with any of them! Make me healthy!

    • bonne_santé says:

      Thanks Kirsten! I am so very flattered that I will be dedicating an ENTIRE POST to smoothies in the next couple of days – then you shall be a healthy, glowing thickshake machine. x

  • jjaci says:

    Mmm pretty foods. I’m really liking the idea of orange in salads. I’m wary of certain food combinations but that really appeals to me.

    • bonne_santé says:

      DUDE it’s DELICIOUS! Pretty sure it’s ok by food combining standards, and something about the delicious sweetness of the orange goes so well with the bitter greens and seaweed. Mmmmm…(did I lose you at seaweed? :D)
      How’s the cola boycott? Still going strong?

  • […] : Ever since I did my raw experiment at the end of last year, I haven’t been feeling so great. Not that I attribute this to the […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Low fat is HARD! Raw days 8 & 9. at Bonne Santé.

meta

