Raw day 1.

November 13, 2010 § 6 Comments

Raw recap: First day of raw, nekkid food.

Hey there kids! I made it through day one! Huzzah!

Breakfast was this glowing pile of delight.

  • 2 bananas
  • small apple
  • handful blueberries
  • cup of pineapple

Around 350ish calories…not enough in hindsight, but I’m not used to chowing down on that much fruit so early in the day! It was scrumptious.

I also snacked on an apple and a banana mid-morning.

I did feel a little lightheaded throughout the morning, as I always do if I just eat fruit in the a.m. By lunchtime I was back to normal.

FYI – My banana stash is out of control. This was after i’d frozen a bunch too…I felt like a crazed primate at the store hording all the ‘on special, soon to die’ bananas. For $2 a kilo? Why yes, I will go bananas.

For lunch I had an unpictured smoothie with 1/2 avocado, a frozen banana, massive amounts of spinach, 1 tbsp chia seeds & carob powder. Accompanied by 1/2 punnet blueberries.

I started to have this intense feeling of excitement for no apparent reason post-lunch, like when you’re a kid and you’re trying to contain the urge to squeal, or giggle, or spontaneously cartwheel.

I addressed this issue by smashing out an 8km run with my flattie. The first real hot day of the year and we decide to practice for our fun run. Heat exhaustion aside, I felt energetic and relatively normal. I also craved a coconut (pictured above). I treated myself.

I ate this salad a little later, as well as a huge plate full of cherry tomatoes with tahini. Good combo!

Another avocado and banana pudding ensued later on, as well as some dates and more fruit snackage.

I think all up I ate around 1500 calories. I don’t consider this nearly enough seeing as I ran 8km as well as walking a few kms each way to babysitting in the morning, however I literally could not eat any more fruit, and felt satisfied with what I had. (P.s the reason I am talking about calories is only due to this diet being so foreign to me, so I want to make sure i’m eating enough).

Day one was awesome; I felt great and raw food makes me completely forget about the existence of anything else I formerly ‘craved’. It’s amazing because I struggle so much with bringing balance to my diet, and often find myself mindlessly snacking on bowls and bowls of muesli or similar despite being stuffed. With raw foods I just feel completely satisfied, eat until I’m full, but don’t have those moments of ‘addiction’ where I decide to demolish an entire bag of rolled oats just for kicks. I finally feel balanced!

Not looking forward to inevitable detox symptoms however, but I won’t preempt their arrival. Going to keep enjoying the rawsome moment!

§ 6 Responses to Raw day 1.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Raw day 1. at Bonne Santé.

meta

