Homemade granola addiction.

October 22, 2010 § 7 Comments

Greetings!

Thanks to all who entered the dialogue on women’s issues last post. Here I was feeling all bashful about typing out the words ‘menstrual cup’ and hitting publish; turns out you all live for the gory details! Hell, next time i’ll just cut to the chase and dive straight into STI’s (with pictorial accompaniments, muaha!).

Maybe not.

BUT now that i’ve whet your appetite, here are some delicious eats from the past few days.

Can you believe I actually FORGOT how to make porridge yesterday morning? These were my first batch in months, and now that the weather is warming up I thought I’d ditch the ice-cold smoothie tradition and re-introduce oats, just to live by absurdist logic.

I have a feeling the Spirulina shakes won’t be gone for long though; you know what they always say – 3-million micro-particles of algae a day keeps the doctor away!

My signature bowl of taste confusion. Beans, quinoa, tomato-tahini sauce, grated salad, ciltrano…some seaweed just to squeeze one more ethnic influence in there.

Mixed together is some kind of surreal, super-food dream!

I’ve also been training (flogging) my inner domestic goddess and just so happened upon a dark, dangerous culinary secret .

Granola is a gra-no-brainer.

Seriously, can’t go wrong.

I’m not even going to insult your intelligence with an actual RECIPE because, being the talented and delightful chefs that you are, i’m sure you can follow your tounges🙂

I used:

Oats ~2 cups

Shredded coconut

Almonds

Cashews

Pepitas

Cacao nibs

Chia seeds

Sultanas

Blackstrap molasses

Honey

1 tsp cinnamon

Coconut oil

You basically mix all the dry ingredients together, barring sultanas and in a separate bowl combine enough coconut oil, honey and a small amount of molasses (it has a strong, rich flavour) to roughly coat the oat mixture.

(NB: You can also use maple syrup or any other liquid sweeteners of your choice).

Spread the mixture onto a sheet of baking paper on a tray & cook for around 15 minutes at a fairly high temperature, perhaps 200. Judge by the furnace-like capacities of your oven and CHECK, CHECK, CHECK every 5 mins or so. Burnt granola maketh for a broken heart.

Bake until golden. Your abode will smell like a magical gingerbread house & you can expect lost children from the woods to throng at your doorstep demanding treats.

My advice; tell them to rack-off.

Once golden, remove from oven and allow to cool for 20 minutes or so. It may clump together, this is normal. It’s the original crunchy-nut cluster before it became an unrecognisable sugar-nut-cluster.

Add your sultanas back in, and serve with ice cold rice/almond milk, sprinkle atop hot oats, banana soft-serve, or just go at it dry like some of us are known to do.

I would suggest gifting some of it away however, as my hand appears to have an auto-pilot, granola-eating function that I just can’t for the life of me override! You too may find the same inexplicable tendency…!

That’s it from me, but have a fabulous weekend all of you x

§ 7 Responses to Homemade granola addiction.

  • Anthony says:

    “…or just go at it dry like some of us are known to do.”🙂 Rebel without a cause baby!!

  • I love granola…haven’t made some in such a long time!
    Haha I know what you mean about eating cold stuff in winter and hot food in summer…I love having hot soup in summer…I think I just love soup too much to give it up in the hot seasons!

    You know I NEED to try a spirulina smoothie! Where do you get it? I’ve only really tried spirulina mixed with other ingredients (as in a pre-mix powder).
    Do you have a post or if not could you post a basic spirulina smoothie recipe? That would be so good!

    • bonne_santé says:

      Spirulina is quite the miraculous algae! It does have a very unique taste, but it works strangely well with chocolatey/sweet flavours. I usually brew up this for breakfast:

      1 frozen banana
      appropriate dosage of Spirulina (I worked up slowly because it’s fairly potent!)
      2 tsp carob powder or cacao powder
      milk of your choice
      spinach leaves
      soaked chia seeds

      I personally could slurp this down all day, but you could also try a simpler mix of milk (or coconut water & flesh), a chocolatey subtance, spirulina & banana. Berries could work too! I’ve even made a raw slice with it before (that was insanely yummy!) from a Kimberly Snyder recipe.

      Let me know how it goes!

  • No granola is safe in my house because I am a greedy granola guts!

    Hello, hello Miss Bonne Sante! I’m the girl you so kindly emailed with advice about studying at ACNT… I’ll be starting there next semester yay!!! Thanks again so much for all your help.

    Kate x

    PS at this risk of sounding like I’m blatantly self-promoting, I’ve just started a blog!

    • bonne_santé says:

      Nothing wrong with a bit of blatant self-promotion; we do spread health propaganda after all🙂
      So glad you’ve started a blog! The aussie-blogger army is building!
      Also v. pleased you came to a decision about college – pressure is now on for it to live up to my lashings of praise! See you next sem! x

  • Catherine says:

    i love this blog!!! just found it through high on health!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homemade granola addiction. at Bonne Santé.

meta

