Healthy, raw yo-go as promised.

October 2, 2010 § 6 Comments

Hellloooooo!

I am speaking to you from a land far far away; Where left is right and East is West and the whole world has gone tospy turvy. I am referring, of course, to Western Australia – where the sun sets over the sea. I am obviously enamoured.

No photos of my surroundings as yet, however I would like to share the rawsome mousse-like creation that I magicked into being just the other day.

It has officially usurped spirulina sludge-shakes as my breakfast of choice, and includes all necessary food groups; Protein, Healthy Fats, Carbs, and Banana.

Choc-Chia yo-go

Borne of desperation and a severe lack of ingredients, I stumbled across a combination that is startlingly reminiscent of the childhood favourite, yo-go. Remember that awful, yet criminally addictive mousse-like substance that masqueraded as ‘yogurt’ but was clearly whipped sugar/flavour/air?

This is the answer to all your lingering yo-go fantasies!

In the vein of Chocomole and Banana Soft Serve, Choc-Chia Yo-Go utilises that number 1 mystery ingredient, Avocado. Throw in a frozen banana, soaked chia seeds and some carob and you’re on your way to whippy trippy bliss.

Serves 1

1/2 ripe avocado

1/2 frozen banana

1-2 tbsp chia seeds, soaked*

2 tsp carob powder

1 tsp raw honey (to make truly vegan, can sub agave etc)

may need extra 1-2 tbsp water to blend

Toss everything in a decent blender & whip yourself happy.

* To soak chia, I add about 3 times the amount of water as seeds & let sit for around 10 mins, stirring occasionally. You will know if they need more liquid.

This morning pre-departure, I had a moment of heart-stopping agony when I realised I was SANS BANANA. No phallic yellow friend was to be had. Instead, I used frozen wild blueberries & added a little extra honey for sweetness. Result: AMAZING.

Serve with shredded coconut, chopped banana, granola, a drizzle of honey, cinnamon – choose your own adventure!

Anyhoo, hope you’re all enjoying a delicious Friday. I am so utterly knackered that I may just have to curl up & nap, basking in the presence of the eternally lovely Bonne Ma and her amazing new HQ.

G’nite!

§ 6 Responses to Healthy, raw yo-go as promised.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Healthy, raw yo-go as promised. at Bonne Santé.

meta

