Build-a-salad.

August 25, 2010 § Leave a comment

Hey friends!

How’s the mid-week treating you? I’m feeling a little sorry for myself for the usual reasons; skin is rebelling, inadequate sleepy times and a general lack of fruit in my immediate vicinity. Ah Saturday grocery shop, will you ever hold me over one full week? My prediction is not, seeing as the more I buy, the more I consume, and so the cycle goes! But enough of my trivial woes, that’s not what we’re here to talk about.

We demand fewd!

Namely, how to construct a last-minute, leftover-utilising, tastebud-tantalising warm dinner salad.

This is what I do in a pinch:

Start by finely shredding some greens (whatever you have on hand) such as kale, english spinach or cabbage into a bowl. Top with grated carrot, zucchini, capsicum, mushroom, tomato…vegetables always match, so go for culinary gold! I find shredding everything really works well in these kind of salad bowls to get the flavours happening.

Then add a warm/wholegrain + protein component. I used red quinoa cooked in veggie stock and some leftover mixed beans.

Feeling sea-weedy? Soak some wakame to dress-up the whole affair with added iodine, calcium, iron….oh, the miraculous benefits of marine munchables are infinite!

Engage in some excessive saucing, perhaps of the tomato-tahini variety if you’re feeling decadent. Otherwise, a simple olive oil, balsamic, mustard, lemon, honey & pepper dressing will suffice! (Though maybe not the GREATEST complement to seaweed in this instance…! Works with salad, chickpeas & quinoa really well.)

Munch! The warmth of the quinoa softens up the shredded veg and makes the whole thing a semi-raw, fully-awesome dinner/lunch option.

I also cut open this avocado that was utter PERFECTION…I just had to share it with you via a dimly lit point-and-shoot photo that does it little justice…

For dinner tonight, I was in a nasty, mopey, indifferent mood that called for the comforting presence of pita bread and beans el mexicana.

I winged this taco pile, and was surprised at it’s edibility!

I baked some wholemeal pita bread I had frozen in the oven until warm & crispy, cooked up some garlic, onion, cumin, coriander seeds, paprika, mixed beans, chopped tomato, tomato paste, salt & pepper and ‘shrooms in the pan, topped with avocado & fresh coriander, and snuck in some jalepeno action on the side. This dinner lacked veggies, but packed comfort factor. So did the almond milk hot chocolate I just whipped up. Who wants another?!

Must be off to sip tea and prepare for 10pm bedskies. Need more sleep y’all!

‘Nite! xxx

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Build-a-salad. at Bonne Santé.

meta

