I have a problem.

August 21, 2010 § 5 Comments

I spend way too much on groceries. Each week my hand reaches for a new and more exciting type of sprouted bread, super grain or sea vegetable, that is invariably more expensive and further removed from my student budget.

Today I broke my PB of grocery expenditure.

It needs to stop here.

On the bright side, my pantry is now a haven of exotic, healthful goodies and my fridge an oasis of cool leafy green!

Mmmm sprouted spelt bread. So sweet, so doughy. I sliced it up and froze it promptly, to avoid the usual gluttony.

Be mine, roasted pumpkin hummus. Hey, you already are!

New seaweed love; Wakame. Ahhh I love the taste sensation of sucking on a big, washed up piece of driftwood. No really, can’t get enough weedy delight.

Buying nuts in bulk hurts me in my wallet, but now that i’m determined to make my own nut milk, it’s a worthwhile investment.

Tried this variety of my beloved Clippers tea at a friends place the other day. It is gloooorious!

New hand cream. Like bobby pins, my hand creams tend to mysteriously evaporate into the fourth dimension, never to return. I hope this one sticks around though, it’s delectable.

If war should break out, I’m stocked.

Lunch was a snacky affair that featured new hummus, toasted spelt bread, salad and an apple.

I’m serious about reigning in my grocery bill, so am considering:

  • Joining a food co-op and getting a box of fruit & veg a week.
  • Buying a plot at a local community garden and trying my hand at edible gardening.
  • Quitting college & procuring full-time work to support my habit.

Option c) is thus far the most realistic.

Hope you’re weekends are swell! Picnic antics with some old chums tomorrow is looking good; diligent study is not. C’est la vie!

§ 5 Responses to I have a problem.

  • Roselie says:

    You could try making elaborate things from scratch, so you can have variety but at a lower cost. That’s what I plan to do!

    • bonne_santé says:

      Thanks for the tips guys! I am in no way competent at managing my financial affairs…
      Roselie – Yes, I agree wholeheartedly! Making your own stuff is better for heaps of reasons; saves money & you know exactly what’s in it. This is where the almond mylk, salad dressings etc are coming in for me – so nice to have a stash of homemade goodies!
      Kate – Will check it out, thankyou!
      Jjaci – Finding a naturopath is actually really hard! I seriously had to do the google/phone book thing, because even trying to find reviews of naturopaths online seemed impossible. Do you have any wholesome friends who may know practitioners in the area? Even if you have a doctor buddy, they would probably have a referral network of people they trust & could recommend. Other than that, I’d say look at websites, prices and services to get a ‘feel’ for the person – sadly, this is my only advice!😦

  • Kate Parker says:

    If you live in central Sydney area there is a great community co-op that has organic and conventional fruit and veggies in Chippendale. Prices are usually cheaper than coles/woolies conventional. It’s open 11-6 Friday’s and 8/9-2 on Saturdays.
    You can see the bike/sign right near The Clare across the road from UTS.

  • jjaci says:

    Money well spent, it seems! But wow, that’s some costly almonds! But, i’ve spent more on junk food in twenty minutes. EEK.

    I know this isn’t related to this post, but I was wondering, how did you find a naturopath to see? I don’t suppose a doctor would refer you to one…? It just occured to me I don’t really know how this works and i’d one day like to see one and find out what they had to say about my naughty ways. But, I have trust issues with medical professionals and i’d like to see someone really good and trustworthy, so the idea of just opening up a phone book and picking one is awfully scary.

  • Jjaci says:

    That’s cool, thanks for responding. Either i’ll grow a pair and pick one at random, or just ask a doctor about it, i’ll see how it all goes. I’m a professional Googler, so i’ll get readin’!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I have a problem. at Bonne Santé.

meta

