Homemade almond mylk; running buddy essentials.

August 10, 2010 § 3 Comments

Happy Tuesday everyone! (Who says the armpit of the week can’t be enjoyed?)

Hope you all got up to some exciting, life-affirming, joymongering business today! Or at the very least, treated yourself to some wholesome cuisine (always the mark of a worthwhile day).

I certainly ticked that box, in whipping up some homemade almond mylk – gratifying both my enthusiasm for new recipes, and also that old budget bore (booo! skimping on food is not my forte). But seriously, why pay $7 a litre for store-bought nutmilk when you can make a gallon at home, using one cup of almonds, for significantly less!? And you know exactly what’s in it.

Wanna peek?

You take the bloaty, soaked almonds…

Introduce them to your high-speed blending beast…

And marvel at your own ingenuity.

Line em up!

Cinnamon & honey almond mylk:

1 cup almonds, soaked overnight (enough water to cover them)

4 cups water (If you have filtered, fantastmo. If not…you’re so dead! Kidding you guys, kidding)

1 tsp cinnamon

honey to taste (I’m guessing I probably used around 1-2 tbspn)

How to:

  • Soak almonds, ideally overnight.
  • Drain, add to blender with water.
  • Add cinnamon & honey.
  • Pulverise.
  • OPTIONAL: Use a strainer/sleeve to remove almond pulp from drink. I left mine in, cos I like it RUGGED! I also didn’t have any stockings handy.
  • Store in glass jars in the fridge & use in smoothies, on cereal or as a delicious drink (with carob, dooo it!).

Was inspired by Gena’s recipes over at Choosing Raw, and perhaps a certain college chum who I mine for ideas on a daily basis (Hi Jack!).

In other news, I have unlocked the secret to improved fitness: Go running with a person you FEAR.

Let’s take my flatmate, Chelsea. Lovely girl, gorgeous, BBFL. Once we’ve hit the pavement though, BAM, take no prisoners, (wo)man up, you snooze… you get shanked! It’s a great tactic if you’re like me and shamefully averse to pain.

We conquered this hill that I always walk up, because I just don’t do gradients. Not tonight my friends. We conquered the slope and beyond, all the while gossiping about boyfriends and the like, and of course trying not to drop the pace.

Worked like a charm.

For dinner, I had the never-fail quinoa + fresh greens combo.

With a vinaigrette I made using EVOO, balsamic vinegar, apple cider vinegar, lemon juice, mustard & a dash of agave.

So fresh and delicious, with cracked black pepper and a whole lotta love!

Time to bluff my way through an online first-aid course. What? I mean, absorb the principles of a potentially lifesaving skill.

Hope your Tuesday was happy! What was the best thing you ate today?

xxxxxxx

§ 3 Responses to Homemade almond mylk; running buddy essentials.

  • Jack says:

    haha! this is great! good work! I am going to make me some almond mylk over the weekend. keep up the good blogs beautiful…. I am starting to get hooked

  • Lindsay says:

    Ok, you’re making me think I should give this a go… I am buying a ton of almond milk these days…

    Do you know how long it keeps once you’ve made it?

    • bonne_santé says:

      From what I can gather, the general consensus is around 3 days…but who let’s their almond milk hang around that long anyway!!? I think if it tastes sour or has a strange consistency, you’ll know it’s on it’s way out.
      This wasn’t a very inspired flavour combo, but I want to try it with dates, vanilla beans, nutmeg, carob… endless possibilities!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homemade almond mylk; running buddy essentials. at Bonne Santé.

meta

