Buckwheat love.

August 1, 2010 § 4 Comments

Surrrrp?

How glorious was the weather today? I could not get enough. Sadly, this one day of freedom was allocated to crying over the insanity of 7 subjects.

It waaaas allocated…

…until I gazed outside at the dazzling sunlight and promptly sprung into action to complete all the other things I haven’t been able to do during the week, living at warp speed. First things first, I took myself to the organic shop that I now call home, getting there before they were even properly open to snatch all the best (dirtiest) and most beautiful (misshapen) produce for my own evil purposes.

It was a bounty of brown paper bags filled with glorious, earthy, seasonal items. I’m serious, I can’t go back to the supermarket anymore without cringing…I’ve made the break.

Post grocery massacre, and despite a twinge in my back from the unco stair-fall effort last week, I smashed out a run that felt amazing and effortless and pretty damn badass by my pathetic standards. I credit this to drinking Spirulina every morning now, and also the few days ‘rest’ i’ve had due to mangled appendages; sometimes a few days off can really refresh your body.

Stage 3 of Naturopath’s detox plan came into delicious effect today as well, with a new vanilla powder that obviously serves to compensate for the foul green poison of stage 2.

Looks rather pretty, no? My flatmates were even eyeing it greedily, as opposed to fleeing in terror from my usual concoctions. The powder was mixed with berries & rice milk, and tasted fab. I also have to take more herbal supplements on the side.

Lunch was exceptional, albeit rather predictable. Fresh, local produce however, makes all the difference (oh, and charred capsicum hummus goes a long way too!).

Sweet potato of course, stuffed with quinoa, tomato paste & capsicum hummus.

Big, raw salad with sprouts (getting back into them because they’re so incredibly great for you), broccoli, carrots, capsicum, kale, spinach leaves, tomato, green beans, and some semi-dried Roma tomatoes for speeeeecial. Seriously, they were special. I haven’t had them in so long – what was I thinking?!

I don’t care if sundried tomatoes are a relic from the 90s…they’re freaking delicious!

Sketchy nighttime photography ensues…

Dinner was inspired by this blog I stumbled upon tonight. I think it was destiny that I found her great site because on a whim I bought a motherload of buckwheat last week, then promptly realised I hadn’t a clue how to make it into something edible. Enter; Improvised Buckwheat Risotto.

Don’t have a definite recipe yet, as I just kept adding things until it tasted ok, but it was roughly:

1 c buckwheat groats (hulled)

2 c veggie stock

1.5 cloves garlic

1/2 small red onion

1 tsp coconut or olive oil

1 tbsp chopped semi-dried tomatoes

1-2 tbsp tomato paste

1 tsp sambal oelek

1/2 can whole peeled tomatoes (+ juice)

finely chopped kale

handful diced cherry tomatoes

celtic sea salt & pepper to taste

You basically bring the stock + buckwheat + 1 clove crushed garlic to the boil and let simmer for about 15 mins until all the liquid is absorbed. In a pan, I sauteed the onion & remainder of garlic with coconut oil until clear, then added cherry tomatoes & kale and wilted. Throw in the buckwheat once cooked, and add everything else, preferably in a random, haphazard style that calls for multiple taste tests, over-zealous arm-flinging as you flick pinches of salt & pepper dramatically into the mix, and sporadic curses as you realise it’s burning on the bottom.

It cooks up like risotto! Why don’t people use buckwheat as a rice alternative? Mind-boggling. I’ll be working on this recipe some more, seeing as I have a few kilos of the main ingredient to mess around with.

So. Buckwheat. Heard of it?

Looks like this when dry.

This little triangular beauty is actually a fruit seed, and is gluten-free, rich in protein, minerals (iron, zinc, selenium) and is easily digestible. It is also very hardy and fast-growing which means it’s fairly inexpensive, but more importantly a very sustainable, practical crop to be supporting. The flavour is unusual, but in this dish it’s masked by the copious amounts of garlic/chilli (sorry scent-conscious readers!) so it just stood in for rice in my opinion.

Wellllllll seeing as i’ve been procrastinating all day, I really should open a book and appear enthused.

Love xx


§ 4 Responses to Buckwheat love.

  • Lindsay says:

    Your buckwheat risotto looks awesome, and has inspired me back. That’s why I love this blogging thing. Cycles of inspiration!!

    Thanks for the link, and can’t wait to see what else you’re cooking up. I love your philosophy mini-manifesto!

    • bonne_santé says:

      Thanks Lindsay! I was so happy to find your blog – I perused your (extensive/amazing) recipe collection, and can’t wait to try about 300 of them..on conservative estimate!
      Risotto needs work, but glad I have a use for the buckwheat now!
      p.s keeeeeep blogging!

  • jjaci says:

    Ooh, the drink does look much better than the first one! haha. Vanilla is always good, aaaaalways!

    Mmm, sweet potato, i’m really into sweet potato mash these days.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Buckwheat love. at Bonne Santé.

meta

