Simple quinoa recipe; wack stress attack.

July 26, 2010 § 4 Comments

Howdy folks,

I’ve missed blogging the past few days; but believe me, I am going to have SO much new insider naturopath info to share with you guys in the future, haha! Yeah but, no but, seriously-like, my brain must have a knowledge baby right now cos that thing is FULL! After 4 days of the course, I feel like i’ve learned more than during the past 2.5 years of uni. May or may not be attributed to my complete disregard for attendance, note-taking and all things studious in former degree, but let’s blame the institution for now.

First things first.

I’ve obviously needed to unleash my inner organisational goddess and plan lots of meals in advance to cater for the long hectic days running between college and work. This meal of red quinoa and greens was something really flavourful, quick and packable to whip up. (Pssssst red quinoa is the bomb! Only just tried it the other day, and for some reason it cooks really nicely and has an awesome texture that I think trumps the white).

Into the mix went (serves 1 regular person, or 2 frugal students):

1/2 cup red quinoa, cooked in 1 cup vegetable stock

1 tspn extra virgin coconut oil

1 clove crushed garlic

1 tbspn diced red onion

cubed eggplant

small broccoli florets

fresh green beans

zucchini

baby spinach

juice of 1/2 lemon

celtic sea salt

cracked black pepper

So easy y’all. Cook up your quinoa; sautée garlic & onion in coconut oil until translucent; add greens (omitting spinach) and fry for a minute; add a couple of tablespoons of water to the pan and cover for 3 mins to steam; add cooked quinoa; add spinach leaves; squeeze in lemon juice with a pinch of sea salt & lashings of pepper, and enjoy!

I’m learning that simple flavours are so vibrant and fresh, and ultimately supremely satisfying.

All packed up with one place to go; belly town.

My goodness I am so tired right now. My flatmates just got home and handed me my keys…that i’d left in the lock of the front door. Total vague-out moment. But i’m soldiering on!

Looking forward to waking up to this in the morning:

Rice milk, spirulina, spinach, banana, berry, chia seed, cacao smoothie. These things hold you over big time!

Other things brightening my days; sweet potato butterflies!

Anyhoo, I noticed something interesting the other day in regards to stress, and how sensitive we can become to it after living such a leisurely life of, well, leisure. After an unfairly long bout of holidays, and not too much to tax my mind other than choosing between traditional as opposed to tuscan kale, getting back into time-management left me a little shaky and anxious the other night. Scheduling enough sleep, planning meals in advance, organising textbooks & notes, babysitting, working, driving, living, breathing became all a bit much for this frettish gal. I could literally feel the adrenalin coursing through me as I tried to comprehend how I was going to physically be in all the necessary places over the next 3 days… Next morning I woke with a headache (highly unusual), and felt like I was walking around in a fog. Today has been the same, with sore sketchy eyes, sudden onset dyslexia, and decidedly lower capacity for wit and intelligence…

My point is, I realised a) how toxic stress hormones can be & their profound effect on your energy levels/concentration/well-being and b) i have poor stress management!

What do you all do to de-stress? A lot of my new friends at college are heavily into yoga and I think it may finally be my time to take the plunge. Why am I so scared of the stretchy calmness?!?!

Seriously, there is so much I want to talk about, but my head is flopping from side to side in a fairly flaccid manner so I think this is my cue to crawl under the covers.

I’ll leave you with a parting picture I took of a radish, hehe.

§ 4 Responses to Simple quinoa recipe; wack stress attack.

  • Katie says:

    Hi!
    Love your blog, and I’m sooo looking forward to hearing about all the cool stuff you’re learning in school!
    I too love red quinoa – it seems slightly crunchier and nuttier than the white. Plus it’s pretty! I make a similar dish, only I add mushrooms…love me some shrooms! Actually, it’s quite a bit different, but the idea’s the same – lots of steamed veggies with red quinoa – so simple, healthy, and delicious!
    I also want to thank you for turning me on to sweet potatoes. Oh.my.god. Believe it or not, I had actually never had them before. Until about five nights ago. And my life changed forever. Seriously, I was sooo happy as I was eating it. I roasted it with a little EVOO and some spices, and had some pieces with almond butter. How could something so natural be soooo delicious?! and sweet?! and versatile?!
    Thanks!

  • bonne_santé says:

    Hey Katie!
    Glad you’re feeling the red qunioa vibe – it’s really gorgeous to plate up, especially with a big side of colourful vegetables. Awesome on the sweet potato front, respect for having the patience to bake them!

  • jjaci says:

    Qunioa looks pretty, how long does it take to cook and how do you know when it’s done? It seems like one of those tricky things, kinda like rice.

    • bonne_santé says:

      Actually, I find it the easiest of all those grainy/seedy/ricey options – the red quinoa especially seems to just work! Double the amount of liquid as quinoa, and make sure to rinse, rinse, rinse before you start to cook it! (Need to remove bitter outer coating). I cook up say 1/2 cup quinoa with 1 cup water + 1/2 tsp veggie stock, bring to boil, then turn to low and let sit. Cooks in around 20 minutes. Prepare for addiction!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Simple quinoa recipe; wack stress attack. at Bonne Santé.

meta

