Impromptu (almost) raw Thursday; attracting positive energy; skin picking.

July 23, 2010 § 6 Comments

I woke up yesterday ready to tackle my first week of homework with alacrity, when I realised I had yet another hugh-jass blemish coming up…in exactly the same place as the last 2 or 3 Etna-style eruptions. Cue meltdown. I know it sounds dramatic, vain and all things superficial, however some of you may know the utter frustration of a skin condition, especially when you are trying so very hard to be healthy, happy and generally monk-like in your efforts.

I engaged a battle plan after dragging myself out of my ditch of self-defeat, and did what any person would do in my situation – ambled on over to High on Health to consult the experts. I ended up learning something very important – something that I hadn’t considered in my ongoing quest to solve the skin issue.

Picking is baaaaaaad news folks.

Of course, we all already knew this. I knew it myself, but didn’t consider what I was doing as ‘skin picking’. One huge sqeezing attack wasn’t picking per se – that’s what everyone does right? Wrong! Now I realise why the same big angry inflamed red monster keeps emerging in the same place – I have been continually damaging the follicle/deeper skin cells and the whole vicious cycle is on repeat.

Read this article – it’s changed my perspective on caring for my skin.

Because my usual cleanser is also running out, in a spur of un-characteristic impulse buying (…ok, so i’m a consumer whore, what of it?) I also got me a High on Health skin care pack with a hemp cleanser, bee-yummy skinfood moisturiser and neem oil (a spray-on antibacterial miracle product that I am so excited to try). I’ll be letting you all know how it goes!

Yesterday I also had a bit of an impromptu day of raw-dom. I’ve been meaning to do this for a while, but always fall back on the old ‘too hard’ mentality, which of course is rubbish. Inspired by new college friends who are high-raw (vegan), I want to make more of an effort to eat living foods and dabble in a bit of experimentation.

For breakfast I had my usual smoothie; frozen wild blueberries, small banana, bunch of spinach, 3 tspn chia seeds, 1/2 tbsp spirulina, 1 tbsp raw cacao powder and rice milk.

I went for an awesome long run, and by the time I got back to the park on my big merry loop, I had the urge to fling off my joggers and go barefoot the rest of the way home. I’m a vibrams girl now!

Lunch was experimental.

Raw pizza. I used ground almonds & flax seeds, grated zucchini & carrot & a dash of Tamari to make the base. I then formed it into a respectable shape & left in the oven on the lowest temp with the door ajar for about 3-4 hours. Could definitely improve on this random recipe dictated by my dwindling grocery supplies, but it dried nicely and I was left with a cute malleable flat-bread.

Topped with diced avocado, tomato, red onion, cracked pepper & lemon. Could have used some herbs, and a bucketload of inspiration – but again, the veggie situation was lacking.

Later, I had some sprouted wheat bread (NOT raw, but raw-er than usual bread. Counts, no?) with a big bowl of fresh fruit salad.

Before going out in the night to a comedy show, I sucked back a huuuuuge spinach, wild blueberry & orange smoothie. So my friends, I am quite pleased with my rawr efforts, and hope to keep up this un-cooking aspect of my life.

Speaking of life (check out the segue skills)… as you know I am happy as a happy thing right now with my study situation, and the world in general.

The other day however, I was feeling a bit off, my mum was leaving to move to another state, and I was possibly battling some kind of internal hormonal forces. Well, I had absolutely one of the worst afternoons of my life. Not only was everything going wrong (getting lost while driving, short for parking by 50c, late for work) I also had a huge run-in with a customer at work that left me a blubbering mess. Usually, I’m happy to say that I don’t get in fights, or promote confrontation – I would rather just smile and let it go, practicing my zen-like powers of calm (that are probably equally as infuriating for the unhappy party!). This night, I must have been radiating negative energy because a woman of the heinous-wench variety stopped by to play verbal jujitsu. I took the bait; I fought back; I teared up and the rest is history.

In a funny way, I knew something like that was bound to happen that day. I was obviously projecting a hearty amount of bad vibes outwards, and of course this affects those whom we encounter in greater ways than we care to admit. People sense it – this lady obviously did. On some energetic level we clashed, where on an average day I may have avoided the situation with a more positive attitude.

I am affirmed in this belief because days like yesterday, when I am beaming my little heart out as I go about my business, the opposite occurs. Whilst shopping, in every store I had fantastic conversations with the staff; even strangers. At the health food store, a lovely girl complimented me profusely on my hair, and in another I made friends with a like-minded outdoorsy fitness type who was keen to hear about my course and everything in between. It was an awesome day, confirming that your mood and energy can certainly dictate the ways in which you interact with others, and the situations you find yourself in.

What think you, dear readers?

My, this has turned out much longer than expected. Must dash to cram in some study before work – stay happy!

xx

§ 6 Responses to Impromptu (almost) raw Thursday; attracting positive energy; skin picking.

  • Roselie says:

    Soo true, your mood definately dictates your day and how you ‘re going to handle everything. And oops picking is bad?? Gotta be careful from now on…

  • bonne_santé says:

    Glad you agree 🙂
    And Yes! I only realised JUST how bad meddling with your face is…you can damage the fragile layers of your skin, transfer bacteria from your fingers possibly causing infection (yeeeuugh!) and ultimately leave yourself with nasty scarring.

  • Katie says:

    It’s so hard not to obsess over acne… I just started using yellow clay from high on health and I’m trying to not use it every friggin day in hopes that it’ll magically make the spots disappear. It has helped a lot but time is the key that my impatient little inner self hates to wait for. Good luck with your kit, let me know how the neem oil works for you!

  • jjaci says:

    One spot? Consider yourself lucky dear! I lead a very take away food orientated life so my face is a tragedy. No scrub or treatment will save me…i’d need to break free from the clutches of junk. Pfft. I love your blog because we’re complete opposites and your foods always look so great.

    Your mood makes a huge impact on the day…you pretty much project how you’re feeling to the world and everyone senses it. Bad moods piss everyone off, but it’s especially irriating when people snap at you when you’ve done nothing. I often find when i’m feeling like crap, sitting on the train going to work, people will grumble at me asking me to move or some random thing when I haven’t done anything to harm anyone. But, if I look happy, people smile back and thank me when I move out of their way instead of cracking it before I get the chance to do anything.

    Jumbled but I will still submit this, haha.

  • bonne_santé says:

    Thanks for the thoughts guys! Made perfect sense Jjaci – our crazy minds must be on the same page.
    Katie – i’ve been dying to try the clays! Purchase of entire highonhealth store imminent… Just received my bee yummy pack in the post today and was so excited I used it right away! I don’t want to give pre-emtive praise because my skin can be notoriously fussy, but after the hemp cleanser + neem oil + bee yummy skinfood, my face feels glooooorious! Will be sure to update you on the results.
    Jjaci – I know I sound COMPLETELY vain with the whole ‘blemish’ freak out and am trying to keep it in perspective – they’re just pimples after all, right? Your public transport scenario is exactly what I mean with the energy thing. Close, sweaty quarters can bring out the baaaaad juju.
    x

  • jjaci says:

    Oh good, I stared at that comment for awhile trying to figure out if I should start over again! haha.

    I’d like that pizza creation right now, I really do love avocado and tomato, they’re magical, especially together.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Impromptu (almost) raw Thursday; attracting positive energy; skin picking. at Bonne Santé.

meta

