Recovery, for weaklings (me).

July 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

Flatmate bonding night, otherwise known as let it rain wine!

So maybe a bit of an overstatement, you know i’m not a huge drinker (read: haven’t drunk in months…and I call myself a student!) but I do enjoy a cheeky verre du vin every now and then, especially of the tasty, gutsy, shiraz variety. Despite my weakling status amongst these two seasoned drinkers you see before you, I still needed to rehydrate this morning, and am feeling decidedly weary today.

When I woke up, I threw back a huge stein of water with the juice of half a lemon for good measure. Later when my appetite crawled out of hiding, I whipped up a thick-green-goo shake.

1 small banana

around 10 frozen pitted cherries (new obsession)

handful baby spinach

1.5 cups rice milk

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp spirulina

1 tbsp cacao

Much better! Ready to assemble the IKEA bookshelf that arrived on my doorstep last night courtesy of loving bf and his super-size station wagon.

Much like my lack of respect for recipes, I also harbour contempt for instructions, directions and all things fiddly & detailed. Just do it I say!

Once I messed up the very first step however, I decided to shelve my gung-ho attitude and take IKEA’s advice. Result – completed bookshelf, sans drama. What can I say? D.I.Y genius! I am now basking in the joy of my newly arranged room and staring at my alphabetized literature. (What a geek!)

Lunch was yet another variation on the sweet-potato boat. This time, stuffed with tempeh in a homemade tomato sauce.

I just crumbled some tempeh into a pan with olive oil & fresh garlic, sautéed until golden, then added some canned tomatoes, tomato paste, cracked pepper & salt, some herbs (basil, oregano), bit of hot paprika for a kick, and of course a splash of left over red from last night. Stuff steamed sweet potato and marvel at the endless versatility!

Have a great Thursday night! I’m having a friend over for dinner so I need to pull myself together and decide on something vegan to cook. Ugh, decisions!

See you round x

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recovery, for weaklings (me). at Bonne Santé.

meta

