Organic, on the cheap.

May 19, 2010 § 3 Comments

Holla bloggies!

I’m sitting here munching on a mystery plate of raw nuts, goji berries, organic dried apricots & frozen berries. Hot beverage is also present in the form of boiling water poured over a knob of ginger – so simple, so delicious. At this time of year, all I can face is hot drinks seeing as my body has apparrently gone into hibernation and I am freezing ALL THE TIME. Ice Ice Baby has been removed from my iTunes. Yes, it was on there. Question: Is anyone else having this problem? I had to sleep in my tracksuit, with an Everest of miscellaneous towels & clothing items piled on top (ran out of blankets…) + slippers to be able to sleep last night. It was bizarre. Did I lose my thyroid?

Anyways, I mentioned earlier that I can’t afford to buy everything organic all the time, and I think it’s a common problem for people because let’s face it, wholesome non-toxic food is about double the price of the regular stuff. What makes it trickier is that you can’t physically see the pesticides on the fruit & vegetables – they don’t look any less appealing. Heck, the organic produce section always looks decidedly earthy, sometimes straggly and usually seems to comprise of what appears to be the RUNTS of the litter. Obviously, this is because they haven’t been amped up with chemical defense barries and instead are grown au naturale. But if you’re like me, the price often gets in the way.

This is why i’ve now tried to prioritise my purchases according to which items are generally less pesticide-ridden.

WORST OFFENDERS for pesticide levels (try to buy organic when possible):

  • Peaches
  • Grapes
  • Apples
  • Celery
  • Strawberries (see this great post)
  • Spinach/Kale
  • Nectarines
  • Capsicum
  • Pears
  • Potatoes
  • Rasberries
  • Carrots

LEAST CONTAMINATED (can opt for regular versions):

  • Onion
  • Avocado
  • Pineapple
  • Bananas
  • Kiwifruit
  • Papaya
  • Asparagus
  • Broccoli
  • Corn
  • Cauliflower

Tharrr ye go! If you can’t fork out for a 100% organic shopping experience (like most of us) you can at least use this list as a bit of a guide in order to prioritise.

Oh, and a reminder about why we don’t want to consume pesticide residue.

And here.

Ok, just one more.

Well, it’s Wednesday night gym fest for me! Love love love to work up a sweat in the public eye, it’s my favourite.

Have a great night whatever your antics! x

§ 3 Responses to Organic, on the cheap.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Organic, on the cheap. at Bonne Santé.

meta

