A quick progress update.

May 12, 2010 § 2 Comments

Here are some new, health-related things that have been going on in my world over the last few weeks:

  • I’ve switched to a natural deodorant because I’m trying to think more about what goes on my skin and the fact it will be absorbed into my body. Who wants chemicals and aluminum coursing through their veins? (Although it does sound like a recipe for some kind of super-hero…!) Yes, you have to come to terms with the fact that it’s not an anti-perspirant, but to tell you the truth, it hasn’t been that noticeable and I don’t think it’s good to try and clog up your sweat glands anyway – many toxins are removed via the process of sweating. I bought Natural Scents which is alcohol & aluminum free, organic, not tested on animals, & made in Australia. I found it at my local health food store & it seems to keep any odours at bay too, bahaha!
  • I also bought an organic lip-balm from a local, no-name brand to try & support small business.
  • Continuing to use my stainless steel water bottle because plastic ones contain BPA’s that leak into your water, and are toxic for your body. Plastic bottles are also polluting the ocean, and are a land-fill nightmare. If you want to have a look at some options, check out simply stainless or H2Onya, but you will be able to purchase a flask at your local health food store easy squeezy.
  • Using Paraben, Sodium-Laurel-Sulfate, & cruelty-free Shampoo & Conditioner. Tried Alchemy S & C, however it has been leaving my hair (that is very prone to residue build-up) dull & oily. Many people however, praise the hell out of this brand, and it’s Australian made & organic, so I wanted BADLY to love it! Bought David Babaii for Wildaid Shampoo yesterday, as it was recommended by my good friend & beauty expert Fay, and after one use I am cautiously optimistic that i’m onto a winner!
  • Am being a heretic & trying to avoid shopping a big supermarket chains like Coles – with the guidance of my Shop Ethical! iPhone app. The reason being that these chains have a market monopoly, consequently dictate prices, and push small & local businesses out of the equation. Not to mention, Wesfarmers who own Coles, promote gaming, tobacco & alcohol consumption and are generally shit at life. Instead, focusing on markets (when I get the time – this is hard & expensive!) or green-grocers & health-food stores.
  • Seems that my breakout has called a cease-fire and is going away – here’s what I did:
  1. Cut out AGAVE – it has only been about 4 days but I have no new pimples, and skin is clearing. This may have been the mystery culprit!
  2. Started taking a zinc supplement to aid repair & immunity, however getting this from your diet is probably more beneficial, so i’ve upped my intake of certain nuts & superfoods that contain the mineral as well.
  3. Kept hydrated & avoided sugar & dairy like the plague (excepting my two-day aberration in Newcastle when I went a little nuts for cake..)
  4. Exfoliated more regularly, but not so much that i’m tearing off layers of my upper-epidermis!
  5. Felt the sun, sea & fresh air on my face as much as possible.
  6. GOOD RIDDANCE!
  • V. excited because i’m tossing up going to see a Naturopath sometime soon to check up on what i’m doing and make sure things are in balance. Just trying to psyche myself up to part with $150… Will keep you posted!
  • Officially accepted into my Naturopath degree, that will begin in July. Happy days!

That’s the FAQ for the C.A.P. (Any David O’Doherty fans out there?!) Seems like a lot, but everyone can commit to making small changes in their life to the extent that suits them – there is no ‘perfect’ way to live, nor should you feel guilty if some things are simply not doable for you right now. I know that I can’t afford to buy everything organic, and of course there are still many many things in our house that probably should be sacrificially burnt and never spoken of again. But it’s definitely a continual process & a sickeningly clichéed journey that we undertake to improve our lives and feel empowered in the choices we make.

What positive changes have you made, for your health, or otherwise?

P.s Also wanted to give a BIG shout out to Hannah at Han Eats for including me on her blog! I can’t comment for some reason😦 but I was so very flattered by the nice things she said about me, and wish to likewise direct people to her blog because it’s ace! (And really well written to boot – journo kids, you got the moves!). Thanks so much!

§ 2 Responses to A quick progress update.

  • han says:

    hehehe. i’m glad you saw it! i speak no word of a lie! you really have been such an inspiration to me. we should hang (read: eat) when you come to newcastle next.😉 i have a strange connection to your friend elly via the frankie forum. we have yet to meet in person but i would like to soon! in fact, she is the very reason for me finding your blog! glad to hear your skin has cleared up! go team 🙂

    • bonne_santé says:

      Meetups sound swell! I’m constantly seeing all these high-flying American bloggers catching up over fabulous meals, so we should definitely do the same, with some elly naan bread action of course. Enjoying reading your blog – polaroid photos are too good! X

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A quick progress update. at Bonne Santé.

meta

