Introducing…Quinoa sushi rolls & Choc Fudge Banana-Pops!

May 3, 2010 § 2 Comments

Do I have a treat for you my delicious audience! (Yes, I have proclaimed my faithful readers fit for consumption, with an ORAC value to rival the most super of foods!) I’ve actually created something of MY VERY OWN for once, as opposed to just leeching off other people’s culinary genius!

Quinoa Sushi Rolls

You know I love Quinoa so…it’s the most amazing of seed (yes, it’s a SEED – i’ve been dubbing it a ‘grain’ this whole time! Silly girl) so I deided to create some sushi rolls (which I’ll admit, I so dearly miss since becoming vego/vegan) to satisfy my cravings, and provide a more nutritious alternative to just regular white rice. Sea vegetables are also amazing things that I want to inorporate more into my diet in general, so the Nori ticks that box! (Eat your (sea) veggies!) If you want some further reading, this article (though long) has some great information about why you should include these beauties in your diet. For eg. they are one of the best sources of iodine which is necessary for optimal thyroid function, and aquatic plant life in general (like my beloved spirulina) is reported to have the ability to attack heavy metals/toxins that we ingest or absorb and help us to expel them. They truly are amazing.

To make, you basically you use the same theory as regular sushi, so you will need a little bamboo mat for rolling, and all the fillings you desire! For mine, I used tofu, some finely slied veggies, chilli-vegan mayo and pickled ginger. It may seem like I’m going a bit heavy with the soy in this recipe, but to tell you the truth, I think it can be ok in moderation (like most things) and I don’t eat it very often. I just really get a hankering for Tofu sometimes!

RECIPE:

1 cup quinoa cooked in 2 cups of water (as per directions)

2 tsp rice wine vinegar

nori seaweed sheets

fillings of choice (tofu, carrot, cucumber/cajun-spiced mushrooms, avocado)

vegan mayo

sambal oelek or other chilli condiment you prefer

pikled ginger (be careful when buying this – I was in a rush at the time, and just grabbed one at random, but I disovered that it was seriously the most horrible, toxic thing imaginable with lots of preservatives, chemials and colours – so just be mindful of which brand you choose and read the label!)

Vhhhat to do:

  • Cook quinoa in water and let cool to room temperature; then add 2 tsp rice wine vinegar.
  • Whilst cooling, prepare your fillings; cut carrot, cucumber & tofu finely into little tiny strips and set aside.
  • Mix 2 tbs vegan mayo with about 1 tsp of chilli (this is really dependant on if you want it spicy or not!)
  • Take a sheet of nori, and lay shiny side down on your bamboo sushi mat. Spread quinoa evenly over the whole surface to about 1/2 cm thick – leave an inch along the top, far side of the seaweed so you can stick it together at the end!
  • Lay your tofu, veggies, and dollops of your mayo mix along the side closest to you (parallel to inch at top) and use the sushi mat to start rolling up your log of goodness.
  • Continue to roll, and at the end sprinkle some water on the blank strip so it will adhere to the other side.
  • You can either tackle the whole thing as is, or cut into little wheels using a sharp, wet knife.
  • Serve with pickled ginger & soy sauce…impress your friends with your homemade, vegan sushi-train!

And for dessert you might need some…

Frozen Choc-Fudge Banana Pops!

I’ve been thinking about doing this for a long time, as I have fond childhood memories of my auntie selling frozen bananas dipped in chocolate at her fruit & veggie store when I was a kid! They were such a HIT with customers that I decided to ressurect the banana fudge-popsicle and make it fit for narky eaters such as myself! Also, have you ever taken the time to freeze a banana? I keep a permenant stock of peeled, bite-sized sections in a container in the freezer for post-dinner munching at my leisure. Once frozen, the nannie has a similar texture and creaminess to ice-cream, and worked perfectly as a healthified paddle-pop!

For this you need to:

  • Peel your nana
  • In a bowl, mix together 2 heaped tsp raw cacao powder, 1 tsp melted EV coconut oil, 2 tsp agave. If it’s too thick, you could potentially thin it out with a little more coconut oil, or even rice or almond milk. Mine was really gooey, but it just served to make a thick, fudgy coating on the banana that I was more than happy to roll with!
  • Coat your delicious yellow speciment in the fudge and insert a skewer into one end.
  • Rest on a plate in the freezer for a couple of hours until solid.
  • Go bananas!

As I was doing this, I was thinking about how great this would be with:

  • Crushed walnuts as a coating on the fudge.
  • Ground chia, goji, nuts mixed in the fudge.
  • Alternative choc-coating made with carob powder, tahini, coconut oil & agave.
  • Nut butter & cacao mixture.
  • Shredded coconut coating.

OH BOY! This calls for another trip to  the green grocers to clean out their stash of eco-bananas…

In other news, I bought myself some much needed daggy gear for exercise & house bumming. It feels AWESOME to rug up in a new hoodie, even if sports clothes are a ridiculously over-priced means of looking under-dressed. Along with my new stripey wardrobe staple, I acquired my very first pair of stretchy gym pants! I was of the ‘tights-are-not-pants’ school for a long time, casting a judgemental eye over those who chose to get about it the skin-tight pedal-pushers, but i’m going to take this opportunity on a public forum to repent! Because you are never getting me out of these suckers!

It was cold, ok!?

Thanks for reading! xxx

§ 2 Responses to Introducing…Quinoa sushi rolls & Choc Fudge Banana-Pops!

  • Fay says:

    Looks soooo delicious (both sushi and choc bananas). If only i could be bothered to make them!
    ps. Skin is looking mighty fine

    • bonne_santé says:

      Haha it’s ok, they probably look better than they taste! (Although, who could go wrong with a big chocolate covered banana?!) P.s Skin continues to erupt…flash fixes all. At a bit of a loss…:(

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Introducing…Quinoa sushi rolls & Choc Fudge Banana-Pops! at Bonne Santé.

meta

