Things that make you go….MMMMM!

May 2, 2010 § Leave a comment

Hello friends! Well, after another long hiatus, i’ve returned with many-a delicious recipe to share, and some controversial news about one of my most treasured ingredients, TEAR! In health and body news, I’m STILL battling the epic breakout, but trying to stay positive despite the overwhelming urge to hide away indoors, and only address people through an artfully constructed paper-bag with eyeholes. Failing that, I tilt my head to a practiced angle so as to conceal the most offending areas. Oh now, this is terrible talk…I apologise for my blatant self-pity!

Tactics for getting over mystery break-out:

  • drink an obscene amount of water (nb: remain within 0.5 km radius of toileting facilities at all times)
  • continue to be dairy-free and gluten-sparing (would do this anyway – seriously the best thing I’ve ever done)
  • continue to take Spirulina
  • take Zinc supplement (a little bit behind this philosophy here)
  • get plenty of outdoor sun time
  • have temporarily stopped drinking dandelion tea…perhaps it was detoxing my liver and there was nasty stuff hidden down there? Who knows, will only drink my old faithful green tea for a while and see if there’s a change
  • continue to exercise to improve skin circulation
  • MUST NOT PICK
  • soaking my oats for porridge religiously now (see: this article by Fran) Maybe the phytic acid was blocking my body’s absorption of nutrients like zinc and B vitamins?
  • be HAPPY and don’t let crazy baby-sitting kiddly-winks wake stress-monster from slumber

So you may be wondering what the controversy involves? Well I hate to say it, but my beloved Agave has been in the spotlight recently due to it’s high fructose content. Although this is it’s calling card in that it helps keep blood-sugar levels stable as opposed to sweeteners which instead have more glucose, it is now argued that the fructose is actually more stressful for your body to process and can have implications for your kidneys & liver. GAH! My favourite, secret ingredient! See this article at high on health for a more accurate summary of the debate. I have such a sweet tooth, and am despairing a little as I use Agave every day. I might try and find some alternatives and let you know how I go! Still using it in moderation for now.

I also experienced a proud moment this week when I made my flatmate NO-CHEESE-PLEASE Vegan Pizza.

She took a bite and LOVED THE PANTS OFF IT! Prouder still, was when she added some ham to the very last slice (without which no vegan meal is complete…) but begrudgingly admitted that she wrecked it and it tasted better sans pig! I was radiating smug!

I’ve been eating a lot of Kale, and find it a really great alternative to lettuce, of which i’ve never been the biggest fan. I have it with avocado squished through, some olive oil, fresh lemon juice and a touch of sea salt then add cherry tomatoes, cucumber, sprouted beans, grated carrot etc. Tasty goodness!

Have been buying Hummus seeing as my blender is a P.O.S and can’t deal with chickpeas, and it’s so darn convenient!

At least the ingredients are all-natural, and it’s locally made.

Making superfood balls, in a cup – the laziness continues. This satisfies my schweet cravings and has a bunch of super-hero foods to boot! I blended up some oats, almonds & goji berries then mixed in raw cacao, spirulina, coconut oil, shredded coconut and agave and ate with a spoon. Is that weird?

Loving on this smoothie with 1 cup Kale, 1 banana, 2 tsp spirulina, 1 heaped tsp cacao & rice milk. Gotta thouroughly blend it’s ass though because the Kale tends to resissssst!

Mixed salad plate with carrot sticks, hummus, steamed & raw veg and random fruit! I love to chomp through a whole lot of different flavours and textures in the one plate – it takes ages and gives you a chance to realise that you’re full!

Over and out!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things that make you go….MMMMM! at Bonne Santé.

meta

