What I ate/shovelled into my gaping mouth.

April 10, 2010 § 2 Comments

Well helllllllooo there! It’s been too long since i’ve had the time to sit mindlessly on the internet for the morning and share irrelevant meal details! This working hard business really ain’t for me. I’ve spent the week running between uni, babysitting and work, thinking far too much about food and giving minimal attention to my whole raison d’être… completing my uni degree. Yikes, so very behind! Actually, all I can think about is the fact that I’M GOING TO FRANCE NEXT YEAR and how the hell am I going to uphold a healthy vego existence in the land of milk and butter?

To make up for lost time, here are a plethora of delectable goods that have sprung from the metaphorical loins of my kitchen. Is that an appetising image?

First up, medicinal cookies from my new, almost-favourite, pretty sensational blog that you’ll find here. Recipe for these babies. These are REALLY GOOD, but if making them, just don’t flatten them too much as they really spread out. Otherwise, this one’s a keeper, yesir.

From the same blog, I tried my hand at making baked potato/sweet-potato latkas. Really needed some kind of aoli or topping, but speedily devoured nevertheless.

Raw dinner of the week! Lately i’ve just been cracking into a young coconut for dessert, sipping away at the amazing coconut water, then feeling like a crazed primate scooping out the delicious flesh inside. I think i’ve talked before about foods that make your skin look beautiful the next day (particularly if you eat them at night) and young coconut is certainly one of them. There is an excellent level of hydration and good fat that comes from one of these sexy nuts, and I think it shows in your complexion.

I also had a green smoothie (have been adding avocado and frozen banana and it makes them smoooooth like Marlon Brando) and a kale salad that I stole from this amazing blog.

YUM! I love Kale, there is something really aesthetically pleasing about its gnarly, prehistoric leaves and little scalloped edges. It’s nutritional profile is also out of this world.

Yes…that IS a Tinkerbell novelty swizzle straw…what?

I made GREEN INCREDIBLE HULK BREAD! With spirulina, quinoa and buckwheat flour, this was one healthy loaf. With avocado, lemon and pepper…

…and also almond butter.

Then a massive Saturday, pre-run treat…cacao oats cooked on coconut milk! So rich and chocolately and FREAKING AWESOME FOR YOUR BOD-EH! I wish I could make this for all of you and you’d be forever converted to tasty tasty oatmeal that is seriously so nutritious and energising! It had oats, light coconut milk, chia seeds, raw cacao powder, frozen berries & topped with apple, chopped almonds, goji berries, shredded coconut & agave.

KA-POW. Going to go on a run now and bust out the energy that this amazing bowl of love has given me! Happy Saturday guys!

§ 2 Responses to What I ate/shovelled into my gaping mouth.

  • El says:

    MISSED YOU! the empty space you left has had me eating full on chocolate; no trips to the gym for 2 weeks, and way too much coffee.

    this will also explain hideous creature you see tonight (HOPEFULLY… YOU ARE COMING RIGHT!?)

    eeeeep

  • […] issue that comes from eliminating butter, sugar, milk, eggs etc. I made the medicinal super-food cookies to take to my Nan’s on the weekend and much to my dismay, despite baking them longer in an […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What I ate/shovelled into my gaping mouth. at Bonne Santé.

meta

