Hot Bitches.

April 3, 2010 § 2 Comments

Today’s lesson is not inspired by any spiritual guru, health goddess or super nutritionist, but by our rappin’, freestylin’, crunkin’ brethren who populate compton, and sometimes South-Western Sydney.

Kanye West; An advocate for surplus self-love

You see, I’ve been thinking lately about how people, women especially, strive for perfection in appearance (and as a consequence, in diet). Not only am I a repeat offender, but I know a lot of other girls who put pressure on themselves to attain a perfect figure, perfect hair, perfect skin – the works. We tend to place a value on achieving certain goals, such as arriving at a pre-determined number of kilos that renders us ‘attractive’ – or living by the mantra of ‘When I lose 5kgs i’ll be happy and my life will be amazing!’.

I know I am a masssssssssif perfectionist when it comes to diet, and because I ultimately wanted to lose some weight as well as feel healthier, there is always this underlying tension between letting myself relax and indulge occasionally, and freaking out that I’m going to put weight back on, or undo all my detoxing progress… and the neurosis goes on… I also have amazing, beautiful, gorgeous friends who fret about little things to do with their outward appearance, and truth be told, no-one can notice. People apply a much more wholistic approach when judging you (if that’s what you’re worried about) and certainly don’t focus on the fact you may have gained half a kilo, or have a spot, or have one boob that is slighly less spherical than the other! I know when I think of someone, I foremost appreciate their personality, and am generally in awe of some feature-or-other of theirs that I think is unique or beautiful, not miniscule details that only you notice when examining your pores with a magnifying glass.

So how do Snoop, Kanye and the rest of their grill-sporting entourage fit into a health blog? Simply by excerising some admirable self-love! When I was driving home from work this afternoon listening to the radio, a rap song came on with the chick declaring she was goddamn awesome and everyone wanted a piece of her sweet life/fame/ass…this really made me ponder why we don’t all take a leaf out of the rappers’ bibizzle and start making it known that you go pretty hard, are a bit of orright, or that you got it from yo’ mamma. After all, if these sorry specimens feel they deserve a harem of beautiful women, what the hell are we worrying about?

I would like you to practice some positive reaffirmations to thoroughly instill this message – repeat after me (in the words of Missy Eliot) ‘I..I..I..I’m really, really h…h…hot’

Yes, yes you are!

§ 2 Responses to Hot Bitches.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hot Bitches. at Bonne Santé.

meta

