Product Review: Bellá Pierre Mineral Make-up

March 24, 2010 § 4 Comments

I’ve been feeling a little frustrated lately with my skin (and state of my make-up collection in general), so after doing some research, I excitedly went out and  bought some Bellá Pierre mineral makeup today and wanted to tell you all about it!

Not only have continued break-outs catalysed my search for a better make-up base, but in general i’ve been trying to think about everything that comes into contact with my body, and also the ethics behind various products I use each day. It’s a natural progression for me, and i’ve definitely had a bit of a revelation lately that health involves all aspects of our lives, not just being nutritionally thoughtful and sticking to an exercise regime. Even things like cleaning products and shampoos/conditioners should ideally be from natural sources (and for me, saying no to animal testing is paramount). Something like 70% of what we put on our skin is absorbed, so it makes sense to ditch as many chemicals as we can and appropriate our awesome eating habits to what we expose our bodies to as well.

Back to the review!

I found Bellá Pierre after noticing on a lot of health blogs/forums the problem ingredients in many mineral make-ups; namely bismuth oxychloride and talc. Bismuths are known allergens and create problems for people with sensitive skin – although deemed ‘safe’ for use in beauty products, it’s a fairly harsh thing to be putting all over your face. The last mineral make-up I used had this ingredient (GloMinerals) and I always felt that my skin was never quite ‘right’ while using it – it certainly didn’t make my complexion flawless as was so often touted by supporters of mineral makeup. Talc is another filler that is commonly included in these powders, and can clog pores, so I wanted to avoid that too. So in searching for a product that was free of these 2 things, I came across Bellá Pierre, which was conveniently sold close to where I live.

It has 4 ingredients:  Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Zinc Oxide, Iron Oxides. They are also against animal testing, and the representative assured me that it would actually help my skin, and I would look like a supermodel in 3 days. This, I will hold him to.

So what do I think? Well, firstly the price is quite high, but for some reason everything was 50% off today so I bought a basic pack (Loose powder, blush, concealer & brushes) for $190. This, to me, was excellent value. The powder on it’s own was meant to cost $120, so pretty steep – then again it’s meant to last for a year & a half, so in that instance, would be worth it.

I didn’t really appreciate the application of the primer, concealer, powder, blush, bronzer & lipstick RIGHT before I had to go to Uni though. They always put so much on when selling it, and you’re meant to be like ‘ooooooooooh my god, I look amazing!’. I felt I more closely resembled a drag queen who’d done their make-up in the dark, but the powder felt SO smooth and nice on my skin, and it really glowed. I did it again when I got home after cleansing my face of the first onslaught. Please find cheezy danoz-direct before & after shots below:

Not really that much difference huh? But i’ve never been able (or had the desire) to put so much make-up on that it’s really obvious. It’s not a skill I posses no matter how hard I try and spatula the stuff on!

Anyway, I love changing up the products I use, and hopefully this may help my skin with those irritating break-outs that it’s still prone to.

It’s definitely worth thinking about what you’re putting on your skin, because why not be conscious of that aspect of your life when striving so hard for dietary awesomeness?

It can also make you feel nice to indulge in good quality beauty products – it’s a therapy I wholeheartedly recommend!

§ 4 Responses to Product Review: Bellá Pierre Mineral Make-up

  • Fay says:

    Hi!! That’s a really good deal you got on the mineral make up and what a lovely result 🙂 You should also check out Inika mineral make up, i think you’ll be impressed and David Babaii for Wildaid Amplifying shampoo and hydrating conditioner. They are AMAZING and it’s helping animals. Plus, it can be purchased at your trusty healthy life store.

  • bonne_santé says:

    Hey Fay! I’ll definitely try the shampoo/cond. because i’m actually running really low and was going to consult you & nat for your expert opinions!
    I’m really happy with the bella pierre however i’m so so picky about the shade of makeup on my skin because I hate when its even the slightest bit too dark or ‘red’…i’m still trying to decide if the crazy sales guy gave me the right colour :S Are you going to try the Inika? I’ve heard about it being the best, sadly, after I bought all my stuff haha!

  • Harriet says:

    Hey, i remember reading in some earlier posts of yours that you had brought Inika mineral makeup..what are your thoughts on this brand and how it worked with your skin because i brought it a few months back and am begininng to run low and not sure if i should re-purchase. Sometimes I love it, sometimes i hate it, thoughts? Also, what made you switch brands? Thanks! 🙂

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Yes I did buy Inika make-up at one stage. I don’t use it anymore though, because I felt it made me look really matte, dull and washed-out. Not enough gloooow! I didn’t get my colour matched professionally or anything like that though, so maybe I just messed up the tone 🙂 Now I use one called Minerelle which is quite good, though I’d love to have another crack at Bella Pierre – this time with the right colour! Little bit out of my price range right now…! Hope this helps, good luck!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Product Review: Bellá Pierre Mineral Make-up at Bonne Santé.

meta

