New favourite smoothie.

March 15, 2010 § 1 Comment

I just blended up a storm, making a green smoothie that would probably be palatable to a regular human! Visually though, these monsters will never be pretty, let’s face it.

It wasn’t a big veggie fest like I usually make, but is still very healthy with the inclusion of Spirulina & Chlorella.

To brew:

1 banana

about 1/2 cup (or more) frozen mixed berries

daily dosage of S & C

top up with your choice of milk (I used rice milk…ideally would like to always use almond, but it’s too pricey for my thin little wallet)

Delicious post-run treat.

Other new stuff i’ve discovered is brazil/cashew/almond nut butter. Holy jeebus this is some tasty paste! Of course, only buy the kind that is natural, raw, blended nuts with no added salt or oils or anything – the only ingredients should be the nuts themselves. The reason I’ve strayed from my loyal staple of Peanut Butter is (as well as seeing delicious almond butter condiments everywhere in the blogosphere) I was reading about how peanuts can play host to this mould (aflatoxin) that is toxic…ahh yet another crazy realisation about a staple food and it’s evil dark side! I probably will still eat natural peanut butter occasionally, but to tell you the truth, I’m pretty smitten with almond (etc) butter so the separation shouldn’t be too painful.

I have some other discoveries too, but this is just a really short post before I have to go out. Hopefully posting won’t fall by the wayside like it has the last week or so!

Til next time…

§ One Response to New favourite smoothie.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New favourite smoothie. at Bonne Santé.

meta

