New house; new recipes.

February 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

As promised, i’ve stepped my game up with recipes and am excited to share some hot and some not-so-hot experiments with you all! I’m feeling better and better everyday with the inclusion of vegetable juices and my Spirulina and Chlorella, and despite having a bit of a skin breakout this last week, and also becoming slightly ill with a head-cold thing, I still feel like it’s my body reacting to stress rather than unhealthiness. In fact, even though i’ve had a ‘cold’, I haven’t had to miss work or stay in bed or anything lame like that – i’ve still felt pretty awesome except for that pleasant nose-like-a-tap phenomenon!

Raw fooding is also coming along nicely! The other day I ate raw up until dinner time, unheard of! I’m a little worried though about maintaining the right balance with food, because as I mentioned i’ve been feeling like I need to eat less (or, less ‘heavy’ options) but there is still a point where you eat too little and leave yourself open to evil suggestions! Tonight I didn’t eat enough for dinner, and succummbed to my flatmate’s mum’s chocolate slice that has been sitting in the fridge for going on three days, untouched. 3 days! We have a house rule that if you fail to consume tasty treats within a set time frame, they are fair game… and i called it! We all have weak moments, I certainly still do, but it’s important not to feel guilty and get back on the big, veggie-powered horse.

Random tangents aside, here is a new breakfast option that I tried from the marvellous food blog Love Veggies and Yoga. I thought I should extract myself from the clutches of hot porridge and try this recipe for overnight soaked Chia & coconut oats.

Turned out really well, scrumptious in fact. I used pretty much the same recipe as Averie, however I didn’t have ‘vanilla almond milk’, only plain, so just added agave to sweeten in lieu of that (and Stevia – still haven’t accepted the aniseed aftertaste). Also used dried peaches instead of mango – it would have been better with the mango but I was too cheap to buy it at the time! Added banana too, of course. Have to get my daily fix!

Very exciting too is my Kale discovery. I’ve run out now of course – no fresh produce lasts more than a couple of days under my salivating gaze (can a gaze salivate?) BUT i found it to be really palatable in green monster smoothies, my favourite being:

kale leaves

cucumber

celery

banana

nectarine

spirulina & chlorella

So energising and full of lifey-goodness!

Also made hummus the other day with less chickpeas and added zucchini – made a really tasty, lighter form of the spread. I had it on the last of my delectable pumpkin & macadamia sourdough.

Update on my favourite avocado pasta-sauce recipe – today I added fresh coriander, and heavenly heavens it was the proverbial, metaphorical, and not-quite-literal shiz.

Excitement city! I attempted to create raw-flax crackers in my oven (on the lowest setting of course to simulate a dehydrator)…and by ‘create’, I mean, accomplished! Improvised recipe:

2 cups whole flaxseeds

2 cups water (filtered if you can)

1/4 cup tamari

sea salt

minced fresh herbs (I used coriander & parsley)

minced red capsicum (as much/little as you like)

Method:

Soak flax for at least 1.5 hours in the 2 cups of water. It will be a gelatinous, gooey blob after a couple of hours.

To this I added the Tamari, sea salt, minced herbs & capsicum & combine.

Spread over a sheet of baking paper on a tray – mine ended up being about 1/2 cm thick.

Place in oven (if you don’t have a dehydrator) on the lowest setting with the door ajar for as long as it takes for the layer to become all dehydrated and stuck-together lookin’. At this stage I cut mine into smaller cracker-sized pieces, and flipped to dehydrate the other side.This seriously took all day, but it was supremely exciting and felt very wholesome!

Before:

After (served with ‘bruschetta’ toppings of chopped tomato, capsicum, coriander, olives etc). The flavours were a bit too strong all together – I think i’ll stick to really simple things on these like avocado and tomato because the crackers are quite salty.

More experiments to come!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New house; new recipes. at Bonne Santé.

meta

