The first failed smoothie…!

February 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

I just got back from an awesome run – I haven’t been doing anything too intense lately, mainly walking and relaxing, but you know that feeling when out-of-the-blue you become a superhuman triathlete for no apparent reason? That might be a bit of an overstatement, especially for me because I am the worst runner in the world, but even so I felt really strong and fit this morning. I’m putting this down to my breakfast which was the usual porridge but with cacao added to make it ‘chocolate’. Cacao has a lot of magnesium and i’ve found before that taking magnesium before a run helps with stamina. So that was a powerhouse brekky…and also loving the new addition of Spirulina and Chlorella to my day. Is it possible that they’re working after only 3 days? Probably not. But i’m going to claim it.

There is also a really strong Southerly wind today that is making it feel wintery – there is definitely a change in the air! The beach was quiet as, and I remembered why I like it in Winter on account of the absence of 50 billion tanned, oiled beach-goers. It was nice to have it almost to myself.

I got home and downed this green smoothie.

More of a tasty treat than anything, with orange, apple, cucumber, celery and S & C.

It was a reward well overdue from yesterday’s efforts when I successfully made liquid vomit whilst trying to cut down on fruit in my veggie juices. It wasn’t SO bad, but the beetroot, parsley, carrot, celery, cucumber, rocket, small portion of orange, brazil nuts and S & C tasted about as good as it looked…

Also made this salad yesterday that needs some tweaking, but it was rather colourful and photogenic. It had chickpeas, grated carrot, cucumber, tomato, mint, parsley, red onion, capsicum, rocket, cumin, lemon juice, S&P and a bit of agave for sweetness. Hmmm…..another iffy creation. I’ll work on some tastier recipes soon!

Must dash to work now, and even though that’s a drag…there is good energy in the air and I feel excited for no real reason. Do you ever get like that? Good things are in store for this year!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The first failed smoothie…! at Bonne Santé.

meta

