Status Report.

April 24, 2011 § 22 Comments

You know when you’re little and you break the family heirloom your great great grandmother squared made from toothpicks on her deathbed? My instincts were always to try and patch up the picasso-like pile of splinters as best I could, arrange my face into a bouquet of innocence, walk swiftly in the opposite direction and pretend it was all a bad dream.

Similarly, I am choosing today to skirt around the glaringly obvious issue of complete and utter blog absence over the past month. If I don’t apologise, there is no problem. Right?!

Unfortunately, I never filled you in on how the story ends. It ends with me running wildly back to the closest family member and, through impassioned snot and tears, regurgitating every detail of my guilt and offering an explanation so long said family member would have forgiven me by the time I came to my whimpering conclusion.

I’ll spare you the essay, but basically our internet modem broke and we’ve been chasing *unnamed service provider* ever since trying to arrange a replacement. When the net dies, my life takes a turn for the hermit. I’m actually blogging from the luxury of my mum’s internet right now (in Perth, waheyyy!!) but hopefully I’ll arrive home next week to a shiny new high speed modem. Vibrams crossed!

SO MUCH has happened in the past month or two. I’ve spent lunch breaks discussing buddhist philosophy, experimental nutrition and meditation with my eternally inspiring college buddies, evenings contemplating The Art of Happiness, and weeks riding a crazy raft of ch-ch-ch-chaaaange!

I’ll update you on the highlights whenever I have a spare 4 hours, but for now let’s embrace the present. Nothing like it!

I’m in the wonderful city of Perth, on the west-siiiiiiide. Dig it. I am so insanely grateful to have family here now and a subsequent excuse to invade at any given moment.

Mum and Andrew chewing up the catwalk, green bags in hand.

Speaking of grateful, mum and I were compiling a list of all the reasons we are insanely, monumentally lucky yesterday, after we had a huge whinge about various trivial, self-indulgent things that we later realised are, in essence, tripe. It’s a nice exercise to turn around a gloomy mood by listing all the reasons we are so incredibly happy and fortunate.

I’ll start :D

I’m pretty chuffed to have a functional face, limbs, spine, kidneys, liver, spleen. They all go pretty damn hard, and are fairly amazing if you ask me. 

I’m also stoked to be surrounded by fresh organic food and passionate foodies. The ability to rock up to a farmers market, survey the scene, paparazzi the produce and fondle the fruit makes me one happy kidney bean.

I may have violated the red onions, m’bad. THEY JUST LOOKED SO JUICY!

This also made me salivate. $5 bananas? Unheard of! Are you feeling me Aussie residents?!

I am thankful for an abundance of raw, organic garlic, which I have been crushing and chugging on a regular basis to keep me perky. And by perky, I obviously mean stinky like a bucket full of chunder. (Now THERE’S an under-utilized word. Chunder. Bring it back!)

Designer corn.

You know how I feel about sexy, leafy greens.

A pomegranate in its natural habitat. (Probably should explain that we were at a local market in Perth that has a kick-ass community garden with delicious fruity candies ripe for the picking).

Baby green-thumb.

A gorgeous man rocking out on the harpsichord.

Ma is thankful for double shot espresso. My adrenal glands are thankful that I never cultivated the habit.




Lucky to have delicious fresh ingredients on hand to whip up tantalising vegan fare. Quinoa, kidney-bean, veggie, seaweed and tomato stew? I think so.

So extraordinarily lucky to have been taken on my yearly shopping outing with mum today. Material possessions in no way support happiness, but they can sure as heck make you smile! Especially when you score an amazing Lululemon hoodie complete with ruffles and thumb holes. I think I’ve written with zest before about my love affair with Lululemon, not only for their quirky, flattering sportswear, but also because their entire business philosophy is aimed at supporting the goals and aspirations of their staff, and treating their clientele with unheard-of courtesy and warmth. It’s love :)

Other things making the thankful list included:

  • Having a kick-ass family who love and support me through thick and thin, and veganism :)
  • First-world living standards.
  • Freedom (of speech, sexuality, career, education… to be a ranga sans persecution!)
  • Vibrams.
  • Dates (both the dried fruit, and the sexy dinnertime variety).
  • Comprehension, cognitive function.
  • Heston Blumenthal.
Quite a comprehensive list, in my opinion. What are you thankful for on this glorious holiday?
Profuse and heartfelt apologies for the absence. Hope to spice up the old blog soon!

§ 22 Responses to Status Report.

  • Jacci says:

    Glad to have you back online! I had noticed your absence and hoped you’d not thrown the towel in on Blogging. Enlightening read as always!! We all have so much to be thankful for, and usually all the stuff we complain about is tripe, as you say. I am thankful for your blog Katey. I always enjoy reading it, and it inspires me to embrace all that is natural and edible!!

  • Lindsay says:

    So happy to have you back – I’m thankful for your blog posts!!! :)

    It was a great way to start the day, to see an email with your post in my inbox this morning!

  • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

    Thank you both for your sweet comments! Made my day to know there are at least 2 readers left hanging on after the epic hiatus :)

  • Sarah says:

    Oh that all looks so lovely – and I haven’t seen bananas under $9.99 a kilo in ages! I live in Perth, so I must know – what Farmers Market was this? I haven’t found any farmers markets that have impressed me here thus far.

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Hey Sarah! Some of the pics were at the community garden/market in East Perth – not a huge variety of produce but I really liked the whole garden initiative and everything was certified organic. The others were at the Subiaco markets. I am sooooooo in love with Subi, cutest suburb ever!

  • Hey! You’re so pretty! Love the hoodie and your photos make me smille like this —-> :-D Happy Easter and glad you’re back!

  • Amanda says:

    I had missed your posts! Glad you are back and everything seems to be going well! Look forward to more of your adventures in food and life.

  • Kate says:

    Welcome back ladycakes!! I too am thankful for Heston.
    Mmmm all that produce is making me weak at the knees :)

  • Coops says:

    My god your blog is the cutest thing! I love catching up on it.
    And that Lululemon hoodie is actually the best thing I’ve ever seen, do you mind me asking what it’s called? There’s so many hoodies on their site and I don’t want to order the wrong one!
    x x

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Sahweeet, thanks Coops :)
      The Hoodie (with a capital ‘H’ cos its so damn awesome) is the ‘Movement Jacket’. It’s so so soft & comfy. You know to take about 2 sizes off for their gear right?
      Have fun going Lulucrazy x

  • jess says:

    Ok, you were at the east perth markets LITERALLY around the corner from our apartment and you didnt say hey? shaaaaaaame on you katey.
    xxjess

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Apologies Jess! Have been cramming 25 hours hours of quality mother-daughter time into each day. Didn’t realise you were near East Perth? Are you free Wednesday in the day?!

      • jess says:

        Unfortunately I’m in the clinic every day this week :( Go and have quality time with your mum, I just like to throw in a good guilt trip evey now and then! Hope everything is going well with you xoxo

  • Shellet says:

    Yay Perth! Yay new post! :)

    Where abouts is that farmers market? Must. Visit. ASAP.

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Perth is the greatest! Want to transplant myself from East to West coast ASAP!
      It was a farmers market at East Perth (community nursery/garden) and also the Saturday Subiaco markets. Lots of sexy organic produce, yum yum!

  • This is a tad creepy but, I saw that you wrote “Pretty sure I could copy and paste this same comment for each of your posts but HOLLA TO THAT DELICIOUS FOOD! ” on Paijia’s blog and I laughed so hard and knew that I would probably love your blog. As it turns out – I was right!! Ill be back :)

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Definitely creepy :) What’s creepier is that now I’ve found your fantastic blog and will be trawling through your recipes for hours! Thanks for the HOLLA.

  • jjaci says:

    You’re aliiiiiive! Yay!!

    Great to see new posts.

  • the neurotic yogini says:

    i absolutely adore this post! the pictures are just wonderful! and you are such a pretty lady :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Status Report. at Bonne Santé.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

