Honey-roasted Almond Butter

March 9, 2011 § 11 Comments

In the spirit of posting recipes like a champ, here is that drool-worthy almond butter recipe that I promised you. Please note the duration between aforementioned promise and delivery <one week. Win!

I also have a small confession to make…

This batch was really obstinate. After 1 hour, 200 expletives and a smoking food processor later, it STILL did not cream like the first lot. I stood over it as it skidded about in the barrel, refusing to release its precious oils, alternating between gentle coaxing ‘Come on! You can do it! Almost there!’ and explosive bursts of insults ‘You call yourself a gourmet butter!? I shoulda made PEANUT!’.

It was immune to my attacks, and I eventually admitted defeat. (Not the first time Almond butter has gotten the better of me!)

I’m pretty sure the reason for the semi-fail was to do with roasting time. Please roast your nuts properly before processing! I became much too impatient and removed this batch from the oven prematurely, and I think that spelled nutty disaster.

I know this recipe can be great, because the other day when I made it it worked a treat. So just keep yer mitts out of the oven and you’ll be cleaning almond butter from your ears in no time! (It’s a whole body affair).

Honey-roasted Almond Butter

(Inspired by, and adapted from Ashley’s Roasted Maple Cinnamon Almond Butter)

  • 3 c raw almonds (pesticide free if you can!)
  • 4 T organic honey
  • 1 T extra-virgin coconut oil
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 3/4 t celtic sea salt

Preheat oven to 160 degrees. Line a tray with baking paper and add almonds, coating with 4 T honey. Bake for ~15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so. Watch them like a crazed hawk as they can start to burn in an instant, if not given enough attention (high maintenance baking).

Invest in colourful, fun-sized jars; arrange casually on bench. Oh hey, camera!

Pull out your almonds, but not too soon! They will be a huge sticky conglomeration of lurrrve. Allow to cool for 10-20 minutes, or until rock solid. Speaking of rock solid, I should warn you that at this stage the nuts will be…rock solid. Grab a spatula, put your back into it, and chisel the nuts off the paper. Place in food processor and blend for around 15 minutes, until it has gone through the various stages of compliance (better explained here).

You will know when it is ready. You’ll hear a dainty little almond-like sigh of defeat, and the butter will become smooth, shiny and drippy. At this stage, add the coconut oil, salt and cinnamon and whiz to combine.

Spoon into a worthy vessel and debate whether you REALLY wanted to send this off to a friend/family-member/co-worker.

Didn’t think so.

:D

Enjoy your night! x


§ 11 Responses to Honey-roasted Almond Butter

  • Marina says:

    Yeah, almonds require enough roasting, and I’m always afraid to over-roast them, or not enough :D Addind dark chocolate to almonds is also awesome, with a pinch of brown sugar.

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Dark chocolate almond butter?! SO glad i’m out of almonds right now, or that would have been my breakfast…and lunch…and dinner.

  • Ashley says:

    Ooooh, yum!! I haven’t made this recipe in so long. I love your little jars!! Your post is super cute + funny. :)

  • Jenny says:

    Added to my list of reasons on WHY I NEED A FOOD PROCESSOR!!! this looks divine!

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Hahah your list must be getting quite out of hand! Maybe mention it casually to a friend/family-member if you have a birthday coming up…!

  • Your recipes look fabulous Katey, as do the photos! I’ve gone a little awol from the blog world (I’m kind of reassessing much of what I believed about nutrition, so much information, too many new ideas!), but I still have been following Bonne Sante! Markets/Suveran/Wafu outing soon?

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Kate! I’ve been missing your posts! How am I supposed to learn about nutrition if you don’t feed me all the golden info?!
      I totally get where you’re coming from – I feel the same. We should meet up v. soon to discuss! I will msg you!

  • Hey Katey!
    Thanks for posting the recipe, now I can attempt to recreate that jar of deliciousness! I’m still savouring the jar of it!
    By the way I like in your other posts how you’re trying eggs. Good for you! It’s always good to have something different and a bit of variety I think :).

    • Katey @ Bonne Santé says:

      Glad you’re enjoying it Michelle!
      Yes, I am definitely assessing different options with my diet and keeping an open mind. Your blog is definitely inspiring in that regard :)

  • [...] layered some delectable honey-roasted almond butter on the bottom of the crock and then used some banana soft-serve as the [...]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Honey-roasted Almond Butter at Bonne Santé.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

