Raw day 4 & 5.

November 15, 2010 § 11 Comments

Hi beauties!

Well, the glorious sunshine lasted a nanosecond, as is Sydney’s temperamental way, and it’s back to dreary, bleary bleak-fest. Summer 2010 is taking a rain check. Oh god, I’m making terrible dad jokes in the presence of company, please forgive me!

The past couple of days have taught me a lot on the raw front. Yesterday, I was quite melancholy, and started to question my motivations for doing this experiment, as well as the validity of the diet itself.

I had a big green smoothie for breakfast, as well as some hot lemon tea and an apple. (FYI – hot drinks are not technically ‘raw’, and many choose to forego them on a 100% raw diet. I don’t see the harm in things such as ginger tea, or hot water and lemon but am drawing the line at caffeine for this experiment – no green tea for this little hippie! Funny though, because I usually gravitate towards steaming teas, but I have little desire for them right now.)

My stomach was still pouting at me, in the form of cramps, bloating and reflux-like symptoms. I decided to ignore it, and try for a run. Needless to say, I got halfway down the street and turned back. My gut was not feeling good, and I don’t believe in pushing yourself if your body is giving you signals it wants to stop. Instead, I packed up some chopped vegetables & fruit, and took myself to the beach to make the most of the sensational Sunday skies.

As I said, I was feeling quite flat today – not so much energetically lacking, but mentally a little gloomy. I started to wonder if I had done the right thing in jumping into this experiment all carrots blazing, without a proper transition period. The article Kate sent me in the comments section last week, cautions us against plunging into a serious detox without adequate preparation, as too many toxins are stored up for your body to cope with. Instead of being able to eliminate them effectively, it is overwhelmed, and thus the detox is ineffective as the toxins remain in your system, unable to be expelled. It suggests that worsening symptoms of bloating, nausea, headaches etc are actually the body trying to tell us to slow down, and quit with the cleansing barrage. You can read it here.

This was playing on my mind as I considered the gas-baby I was now housing in my abdomen; could I be thwarting my body’s attempts at detoxification by coming on too strong? Was I trying to get to 3rd base with raw, when really, we were only ready for 1st?

I decided to keep monitoring my symptoms, and quit if I kept feeling lousy. (That being said, I’ve experienced no headaches, save a tiny one on day 2, or any other major symptoms apart from belly expansion & discomfort. By my reckoning, I am lucky…for now.)

Advice received to keep melons separate was respected, as I ate this gigantic piece as a mid-afternoon snack. With SMH good weekend, of course.

Oh, and most important news of the day, CHECK MY VIBRAMS TAN! Do you see it? Are you jealous? I bet! I have this weird array of terrible tan-lines that zig-zag across my back (lululemon sports-bra outline), form patterns on my feet, and abruptly stop mid-thigh. A pox on you exercise short-shorts! It’s too far gone to actually go to the beach and actively try to even out the damage. Oh, and of course, it’s wrong to tan (ahem).

So anyhoo, day #4 was not too hot. I felt a little better after driving to work and listening to Cloud Control, and customers cheered me up by making inquiries about my green smoothie in a jar that I was eating behind the counter with a spoon. I told them it was a sludge-shake with added algae and spinach. They laughed like I was joking.

I slept badly, with this strange reflux thing happening where it was like I had a permanent cramp right across the top of my stomach. It kept waking me up and I was a little worried.

This morning it was still there somewhat, so I decided to eat a really simple meal of bananas and mango for breakfast, for better digestion.

I did feel better in class, like my stomach was actually getting it’s shit together and breaking the food down. I came home, ate 2 dates, and whacked on my vibrams for a run. I decided that although my gut was achey, maybe I needed to move in order to feel better. Like yesterday, starting out was uncomfortable, and much of the run I was preoccupied by cramps and bloating. But I had a hunch it was what I needed, and sloshing about in the pouring rain in my vibrams by the sea, I started to feel better. I was amazed that due to my stomach woes, I had failed to realise that I was not actually tired and felt extremely fit & energetic along the way. Hills that usually wind me were less than threatening, and I felt extremely alive and happy. There were few people because of the drizzle, and the 8km route flew by. In vibrams and everything! I think i’m really starting to break these suckers in.

So that’s the happenings of today. I am now feeling decidedly better, in all respects. Oh and Jarad said my eyes were really ‘blue’ the other day – they’re not blue at all, but hey, i’ll take it! Must be extra sparkly due to the living foods. And also, my skin feels really nice. I believe it may be glowing! However I am waiting for the detox break-out…anytime now.

I also wanted to mention that I’m getting very excited about continuing down the raw path after this experiment (which doesn’t have a specific time-frame by the way). I believe that yesterday’s slight depression was in part due to the fact that I’m not eating food like I used to any more. I love all the fresh fruit & vegetables, but it’s not the emotionally-fuelled love-affair I had with baked vegan sweets and elaborate new dinner ideas. In this way, I think that i’m going to try and be more creative with my meals, because I don’t want to lose that appetite I have for trying new things, and using imagination in the kitchen. That’s important to me, and a big part of my life. (Yes, gluttony!)

This amazing blog called Golubka that I stalked from Green & Juicy’s blogroll encapsulates that passion for culinary creativity with amazing flair and originality. It may just be the most beautiful blog I’ve ever come across – recommended reading/viewing.

That’s it for now! Any comments/questions, please feel free to share!

§ 11 Responses to Raw day 4 & 5.

  • Isn’t Golubka beautiful?! Avocado truffles: jaw-droppingly amazing. Katey, the frrrreaky deaky similarities continue outside the health realm – I went to uni with the lead singer from Cloud Control, so I’ve been a fan of theirs for a long time!
    In regards to helping the body with ‘elimination’ during detox… part 3 of the post series I’m doing at the moment is going to be about ‘taking out the trash’. Touchy subject, but stay tuned!
    I am so loving these updates, if my employers only knew how I spend my time at work… !
    PS I know exactly what you mean about it all suddenly ‘making sense’ diet-wise. It is just so logical when you really think about it, going back to our most natural diet. But I also think it’s true that it may not be 100% suited to the world we live in now.
    xo Kate

    • Jenbob says:

      You’re brave Katey! Raw vegetables make me oh-so-ill, I don’t think I could stand that feeling for more than a few hours…power to you!

      • bonne_santé says:

        Thanks Jenface! Naw, raw veg is quite fibrous at first, even my steely vegan stomach is revolting a little. Hope the end of semester/uni course has been less stressful! Don’t leave Sydney without taking me on another hot date ;)

    • bonne_santé says:

      Oh geez, I should have preempted the Cloud Control connection, after all, you may just be my blog-world doppleganger! That’s awesome, I love those guys :)
      Can’t wait to read your next post!

  • jjaci says:

    Nice work sticking to it, I personally would need a few cooked things, even if I miss dinner and have something cold like a sandwich to compensate later, I get a bit low. I need warmth in my belly!

    Woah, that blog is BEAUTIFUL! I’m looking through the whole thing now, haha.

    One of the demotivators to eating better for me is feeling like crap. But, ironically, I feel like that most of the time anyway…it’d probably be exactly the same. My symptoms have upgraded slightly, and I now have refluxy symptoms too! I wasn’t expecting that, normally things like Coke encourage those feelings, and i’ve been steering clear of that. I have no idea what’s causing it. So, i’d probably have some INTENSE detox symptoms if I deviated from my current habits. Right now I am just focusing on my caffiene strike, five weeks and counting!

  • Kristen's Raw says:

    Raw -yay! Keep up the great work. Vibram tan – very cool!

  • jjaci says:

    GET THIS! I went back and looked at dates and did a recount and realised I was off by a week, it’s actually six weeks. EEEE!

    lol

  • When I have done cleanses I have gone into them too quickly, and it was bad. Lesson learned. But everyone is different, and some just carry more toxins and all more than others, which sucks for us who are trying to clean up so to speak.

    But hang in there!! You are doing great!! Now I really did to get me eats cleaned up, haha

    ~
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Raw day 4 & 5. at Bonne Santé.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

