Sexy, sexy seaweed.

September 6, 2010 § 5 Comments

Hi friends!

I am having a synapse seizure.

Let me explain…

Have you ever felt like there is so much information swelling, pooling in the inflated little knobs of your axon terminals that no nerve impulse can push it’s way through to the command centre? No? Not so much? Perhaps i’m a unique case.

(Can you tell i’ve been studying the brain?!)

Point is, I am so overwhelmed with epiphany-inducing health-related inspiration that today, I have no idea what to post about! There is simply too much to be contained within the claustrophobic confines of this here blog-hut. Much of said wisdom is stemming from this book I got last weekend. It is too amazing for words.

Well, almost too amazing for words, as I may just write some about it now.

I have barely scraped the surface of it’s epic insight, however this book is more than just a bland nutritional guide consisting of facts about vitamins and minerals. It is a consummate bible of holistic health, with a decidedly eastern philosophical underpinning which I think is just grand. More and more I’m appreciating the incredible, intuitive, beautifully balanced ways of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM). It reminds me of how my mid-80s-and-still-vibrant Nan conducts her own life – calm, measured, eating simple whole foods; not over or under eating; listening to her body; loving and respecting it; exercising for fitness and relaxation. And perhaps most importantly, practicing moderation in everything she does. No extremes, no crash-dieting, no denial of a naughty food if that’s what will bring her happiness and pleasure…It’s a hugely fulfilling way to live.

In honour of my new, life-changing book acquisition, and also all things moderate and equilibrious, I’ve been brewing up lots of alkalising sea-vegetables in huge delicious salad batches, and chowing down with chop-sticks.

Seeeeee?

Oh sweet kelp, you complete me.

Is this excessive?

Seaweed salad:

finely shredded cabbage, spinach & kale

grated carrot

thinly sliced capsicum of any variety

thinly sliced mushrooms

soaked wakame and arame seaweed, sliced (keep in mind these expand A LOT once in water)

sesame seeds for garnish

Dressing:

2-3 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1/2-1 tsp tamari

1/2-1 tsp honey

about 5 drops sesame oil

about 1/4 clove garlic, finely chopped

equal parts fresh, finely chopped ginger

fresh chilli – optional

(NOTE: I also made another dressing with rice wine vinegar, sweet soy mirin, tamari, sesame oil, ginger & garlic but I wanted to cut down on the sugar content from the RWV and mirin, so the above non-traditional dressing was born. ALSO NOTE: You know how bad I am with measuring, so please take this as a rough guide – I always taste test and add/subtract as I go. Pssst this is me taking no responsibility for unworkable recipes!)

Mix everything, and whip out your eating sticks!

I wore my seaweed scarf to honour the event.

Let me reinforce the miracle of sea veggies:

  • contain 10-20 times the minerals of land plants, and a host of other minerals necessary for metabolism.
  • certain seaweeds can remove radioactive and toxic metal wastes from the body.
  • useful in weight-loss programs and for lowering cholesterol and fat in the blood.
  • contain soothing gel-like substances which are fantastic for healing the digestive tract.
  • minerals and nutrients from seaweeds are highly assimilable in the body.
  • arame & wakame, used in the above recipe, contain more than ten times the calcium of milk.
  • wakame contains four times the iron of beef.
  • excellent source of amino acids & iodine (supports thyroid function).
  • have cooling properties in the body and are believed to be able to soften hardened areas or masses in the body.

So get down to the beach and gnaw on some kelp people! You might see me, intertwined with a big slippery mass of sea grass while you’re there :)

§ 5 Responses to Sexy, sexy seaweed.

  • jjaci says:

    “•arame & wakame, used in the above recipe, contain more than ten times the calcium of milk.
    •wakame contains four times the iron of beef.”

    Damn man! That’s crazy amazing! *rolls around on beach* wee!

    It does look good. Mmm, I could go some red capsicum.

    It’s really cool that you’ve found a topic that really interests you, I hope I can feel that way about something someday. It’s always awesome to find a really good book, too.

    • bonne_santé says:

      Glad you guys are lovin’ on the seaweed too. Ahh its sweet, chewy tendrils hold a special place in my heart. Ironic that as a child I would have nightmares about getting caught up in a big swathe of it in the ocean and drowning – clearly, like a bad romantic comedy, the tides have turned!
      Jjaci – you will find your awesome calling; for now, you are welcome to provide daily comment hilarity on this blog, and rekindle my forgotten love of games on your own :)

  • Lindsay says:

    I must say I’m intimidated by seaweed and *most* of the experiences I’ve had with it (minus sushi) have left me underwhelmed. But this looks great, thanks for the inspiration!

  • [...] I won her MSM shampoo & conditioner giveaway, right as I was lamenting having to part with another sizable sum to replenish my O & M supply. I get so excited when I win things! ‘Tis a rare occurrence. Not only that, but I was touched that Michelle even threw in some lovely extras that included a new stash of carob powder, seaweed and hibiscus tea. How could it be that she knows my love for all three? I do not recall being overly vocal about my seaweed fetish… [...]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sexy, sexy seaweed. at Bonne Santé.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

