Bird-seed crackles.

August 12, 2010 § 2 Comments

Jello.

This is the look on my face at this very moment.

Study-induced apathy.

Thanks to…

…the microscopic functionings of skeletal muscle tissue. Ay karumba, how are the inner-most workings of my body so complex and intelligent? Why can I not understand them when they’re HAPPENING INSIDE ME RIGHT NOW!? ARRRGH! Sneaky sneaky myofilaments, I will comprehend you yet!

On the up side, I wrapped my gob around this vegan pizza last night.

Instead of my usual cheeze (hummus, savoury yeast flaked & tumeric) I had to use baba ghanoush as it was all I had hanging around. Garlic fest! Definitely wasn’t worthy of the usual pizza-induced adulation, however with mixed beans, tomato salsa, jalepenos & a whole lotta veg, it sated the hunger pangs nicely.

Today, I created a new treat. Then I ate said treat in the space of 2 hours, using repeated trips to the freezer to interrupt my study as much as possible.

Bird-seed crackles

These turned out really well! Think rice-bubble crackles, only healthified.

2 tsp coconut oil

2 tbsp raw cacao powder

2 tbsp organic honey

1/4 c chopped raw almonds

1/4 c shredded coconut

1 tbsp of each:  chia seeds, pepitas, sunflower seeds & goji berries

  • melt coconut oil (if necessary)
  • mix with cacao & honey to form ‘paste’
  • throw in all other ingredients & mix well
  • form into little balls (using wet hands is best, as they are stiiiiick-eee)
  • freeze or refrigerate for as long as you can hold out

Makes around 12 raw, vegan, nutrient-dense balls – not a huge amount, as my incredible foresight allowed me to preempt the fact I was going to eat them all. At once. No rationing in this household!

Eeek I feel like I’m coming down with something all of a sudden. I was sneezed/vommed on by numerous children today, that’ll do it! So, I’m going to bid you farewell and attack some serious vitamin C/h2o/garlic/ginger/chilli options.

Have a good night!! xx

§ 2 Responses to Bird-seed crackles.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bird-seed crackles. at Bonne Santé.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

